We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lorenza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Donna Stella

Pizzeria Donna Stella
Salita Rascica 2, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
3383588483
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stirling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lorenza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Once again we have just returned from 4 weeks in Amalfi. During the day we wander all over the coast and have found many wonderful restaurants in Salerno, Atrani, Cetara, Pogerola, Ravello etc but at night in Amalfi we are drawn like a magnet to Donna Stella and the wonderful cooking of the delightful Lorenza. Go a few times and you will get to know her lovely sister Germana and all the family, meet half the population of Amalfi waiting for carry out pizza - not to be confused with the disgusting British version.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IlDucaStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“perfecto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We saved this restaurant until our last evening in Amalfi. Had read fantastic reports on Tripadvisor before we went.We had been to Amalfi 3 times previously and never found this gem. You need to walk up the main street and go to the right down a passage with shops,then up a small flight of stairs.It is signed from the main st.When you get there the restaurant is on the right and the garden on the left. It is a total surprise to find tables set out beautifully in a garden full of lemon trees.Absolute magic.Of course there are no views- but the setting,atmosphere,music,tranquillity and wonderful attentive staff ( even though there was a large party of 20 or so people ) more than make up for that.
The pizzas were perfect and the price very reasonableGod willing-we will be back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, ca
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

They say that Naples (and the Naples area) has the best coffee, the best sfogliatelle, and the best pizza. Well, this pizza is wonderful! The waiters are friendly, the service is goo, as was the music and singers the evening that we were there. We had asked the receptionist at our hotel in Amalfi which pizzeria he would recommend, and he said Donna Stella, and he was absolutely right. The pizza was go good that we went back the next evening! Now, back in California, I wish we could go to a place like Donna Stella's. It brings a tear to my eye just thinking about how delicious it was!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afarfaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Donna Stella Pizzeria is a total gem! Off a tunnel half way up the main street this restaurant sells the best pizza ever. Set in a lemon grove it is a very romantic setting. The pizza's are very well priced and taste amazing. Staff are friendly and speak good English. You can watch the guy making pizza's while you wait for a takeout, a sight worth seeing on its own! Excellent!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalfi
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Donna's review Canada”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

A little hard to find but good food and service. Quiet and away from the busy central area. This restaurant is a repeat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Donna Stella also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Pizzeria Donna Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing