We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Caterina Restaurant

Santa Caterina Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 108 Restaurants in Amalfi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We've had the pleasure of eating at the finest restaurants in the Amalfi Coast and Italy, and this ranked as my husbands favorite! He had the best pasta dishes ever...their famous lemon linguine and fresh ravioli were simple, yet superb, and he's a tough customer, since we live in NYC and he's used to the best! The service was lovely, the views outstanding and the overall atmosphere was incredible! Don't miss this gem of a restaurant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“A special occasion place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Santa Caterina for a week. Excellent hotel with outstanding service and views. The restaurant is definitely on the pricey side and would, in my book, be somewhere to spend a special evening rather than eat in on an everyday basis. Candlelight dining on the terrace overlooking Amalfi and the bay, with exemplary service is something that needs to be experienced. The food was very good but not quite at the same standard as the venue and waiting staff deserved, in my opinion. Extensive wine list with well-kept wines but little under €40/bottle. You will be lucky to get through dinner for under €100/head and possibly 50% more dependent on what you drink. If the exclusivity is within your budget then eat here regularly, otherwise keep it for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A MAGICAL EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were fortunate enough to have dinner at the Santa Caterina. The reception was very welcoming and friendly. We had a wonderful aperitif on the magical patio with the most amazing view of the sea and Amalfi. Candles were lit everywhere and the service and drinks were outstanding.

The ride down on the lift, to the dining room at sea level, was an exciting experience.

The meal was delicious and the service impeccable. Can't wait to go back..................

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amalfi311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Just popped in for a quick drink ...and what service we received!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Santa Caterina is without doubt my most favourite hotel set in my most favourite part of the world and have therefore stayed many times. So when my wife and i learnt that the cruise we were on was actually dropping anchor just outside Amalfi, a quick trip to sit on the wonderful terrace with a glass or two of Prosecco had to be done.

We havent stayed there for at least three years, but immediately the head doormen recognised us and we received the most warmest of Italian welcomes from the terrace manager, Franco.

After consuming our fill of fizz, olives and nuts, i asked if they could call me a taxi to take us back into town - they wouldnt hear of it and escorted us to their shuttle bus.
Thank you all at the Santa Caterina and we will be returning hopefully next year

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
514 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“winning cuisine with gracious service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Its an upscale meal of the many restaurants in the area I have visited. Certainly among 3-4 of the best for the area. The service was gracious and the wine list was well put together. I very much enjoyed the fabulous setting and beautifully prepared food. A most relaxing meal

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Caterina Restaurant also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Santa Caterina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing