We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria

Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria
Via San Lorenzo D'amalfi, 14, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
089 871880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 107 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
318 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We ate here based on a recommendation in our guidebook and from our hotel. On arrival we were warmly welcomed. We selected a bottle of local wine and it was brought prompty along with some hot garlic bread. The menu had plenty to choose from. We shared an antipasti of ham and mozzarella and then a primi of pasta with octupus, both were fresh and tasty. Then my partner had a pizza which was very good and I had a selection of fried fish which was all well seasoned and fresh. For dessert we had the lemon cake and tiramisu which both seemed homemade and were excellent. We were brought complimentary shots of limoncello which was nice touch. The waiter was very friendly and attentive throughout our meal. Overall we really enjoyed our food and the buzz of the place. As we were leaving we were given a little bottle of limoncello to take away which rounded off the evening very well. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    278
    96
    42
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great - best in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Received a great welcome in this family run trattoria. So good we went four times. Lovely pizzas and the seafood pasta was excellent - had it twice.Very generous portions and good house wine. Some lovely touches for our loyalty. By far the best food we ate on this holiday. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Looks small from the outside...but when you enter the restaurant it is beautiful. The food is amazing and so are the wait staff. This is real italian cooking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Old fashioned traditional Italian fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were looking for something more low key and traditional and this place certainly fit the bill!

We were able to snag a table outside which was nice but it was located right next to a traffic light so a lot of cars stopped and parked right in front of us.

I had spotted a woman eating minestrone here when we were as Da Gemma the night prior. That was sort of the reason we picked this cozy little place. We ordered our favorite bottle of Furore's white. I started off with the Minestrone which was a primi dish but they were more than happy to accomodate this request. Then I ordered a standard spaghetti & bolognese which I had been dying to try in Italy. It was delicious. My husband ordered a seafood rissotto but they were sold out so they suggested a seafood and homemade pasta dish which he ordered and loved but then he also ordered a fried seafood plate as his main dish and I think he was a little seafooded out. I ordered a chicken dish for my main dish that wasn't very good but overall I was stuffed and had really only gone for the minestrone and bolognese anyway.

I would definitely recommend for a more standard Italian cuisine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Services and food-pizzas and pastas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our taxi driver recommended this restaurant on way from Naples airport. The food and service was excellent on the first day so went there 4 more timed for dinner during our weeks stay. Has only a small entrance but its spacious inside. Noticed that many locals came there at the week-end.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hcandappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Maria Trattoria Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing