We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Feel the seaward breeze” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maria Luigia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Maria Luigia
Ranked #6 of 37 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Feel the seaward breeze”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

From your room' balcony you can dream of boats leaving Amalfi to conquer the world thousand years ago.
Rooms large& well decorated, nice garden & terrace ( where you take the-included- breakfast)
Excellent location to explore the peninsula & islands

Room Tip: rooms with seaview of course ( but garden/mountain view are cheaper & may be quieter ?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dahut20-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    75
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
45
159
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jodhpur, Rajasthan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Villa Maria Luigia in August 2012 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I had requested them at the time of booking to provide me the 'Aurora' room (with the most amazing view) and the hotel staff obliged.

The location is brilliant, the staff is extremely courteous and the location is FAB. One cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank che_bakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The staff is very helpful and nice. This hotel is a 20 minute walk from downtown Amalfi, if you decide to walk back to the hotel at night there are some areas that don't have any sidewalks, but the cars are usually very careful and we didn't have any problems walking to/from our hotel, also a bus stop is steps away from the hotel. We booked the sea view room which was great, the area where you sit for breakfast is fantastic, you have an amazing view of the sea. The breakfast was also good, specially if you go early in the morning. The room was clean and big. The beach was closed at the time we were there so I can't comment on that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takeme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although just a 20 minute walk downhill to the centre of town, this place is definitely worth what you pay. The service was fantastic, the staff worked all day and night to make every guests stay so wonderful. Our room had a side view of the ocean but was very beautiful nonetheless. Breakfast was on a stunning terrace with breathtaking views of the ocean. The room was kept very clean and was very comfortable. The only small drawback was a lack of a shuttle service back to the centre of town with luggage to catch the bus back to the train station / airport. We will return and will hopefully find a swimming pool to greet us!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelRoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkenberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed for 6 days and the stay greatly exceeded our expectations! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and we all enjoyed our stay. Excellent service, nice and clean rooms perfectly overlooking the cost area of Amalfi. Great stay – great people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Villa Maria Luigia was a wonderful stay. The views opening up to the Mediterranean Sea cannot be done justice with words-- the hosts were hospitable and the breakfast was great! Have coffee american style or a macchiato.

However my one qualm is that its on a relatively busy street, where you can hear the motor bikes zoom by and the Sita bus will honk as it rounds the corner. It is perfect if you are a sound sleeper because the walls are relatively thin as well, but if you need silence sleeping, this is not for you. It is a good 15-20 minute walk along roads that sometimes have no sidewalks (and they drive FAST in italy), but if the weather isn't too hot it is a wonderful walk. A bus from town to the hotel is 2.50 euro and you can usually buy tickets at small shops. The cab from center of town is 15 euro, or apparently 20 on Sundays due to the 'lift' they give, but not sure if we were scammed or if that is standard.

Overall enjoyed my stay and loved my visit to Amalfi! Thank you Villa Maria for introducing me to all the beauty Italy has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms, and there is no access to the beach but may be able to ask hosts on how t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Anse, Saint George, Grenada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Villa Maria Luigia. We originally found the place via TripAdvisor and like most things from the site it greatly exceeded our expectations!

We were warmly welcomed by the staff who were extremely flexible and patient with us. We had seen the some of the pictures of the ocean view rooms online and had requested one when we originally booked our stay. Without complication, we were given a great room, that was very clean, free Wifi, and most importantly had an amazing view.

The hotel provides a wonderful breakfast each morning including a great selection of tea (for her) and an amazing cappuccino (for me). This breakfast was a huge deal being that it was delicious and saved us a ton of money, by not having to go into town for a 5 Euro cup of coffee.

One of the best things about the Villa Maria Luigia is you do not have to drive! It is a 10 minute walk to Amalfi were you can get the Sita (city bus) or a water taxi to any of the neighboring cities. If you haven't had the experience of driving along the coastline from city to city it is needless to say a nerve-racking experience. Having a hotel so close to one of the hub coastal cities was very much appreciated.

Really the only quasi-negative thing that I could say about this place is that there are very few restaurants within a 5 minute walk. There are very close neighboring hotel restaurants but when your on a budget and want to go were locals go, there are limited options. Also, walk back up the hill from Amalfi, though by no means is it far, is not something you want to do at 10 pm when your tired and hungry. We did find a little bar about 5 minutes away that actually served a pretty good pizza, and since we went on a saturday night, got to enjoy some pretty good local people watching as well.

All in all this was truly a great experience. I know that we plan on returning to the Villa Maria Lugia in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ninfa
Hotel La Ninfa
#20 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo L'Antico Convitto
1.0 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#3 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Luigia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Luigia

Property: Villa Maria Luigia
Address: Via Mauro Comite 48, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Maria Luigia, belonging to the Amendola family, is the result of a careful and refined renovation of an elegant villa dating back to the 900's. The villa, with its wonderful views, is situated just over than 1km from the center of Amalfi, away from the chaotic Piazza Duomo. Its position allows you to reach the historic centre quickly but offers peace and quiet when you want to relax. And it is with the same elegance, cordiality and experience and a touch of sobriety and Mediterranean modernity that "Villa Maria Luigia" is launched as the ideal destination for those wanting to stay in Divine Amalfi and to be pampered surrounded by comfort and cordiality. Admire the unique views of the Amalfi Coast and Cilentana with the giddy sensation of being suspended between the sky and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Maria Luigia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing