We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Maria Luigia
Nearby Hotels
$219
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$201
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$231
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$319
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Miramalfi Hotel(Amalfi)
$480
$466
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $671/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Amalfi(Amalfi)(Great Value!)
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Aurora(Amalfi)
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$883
$829
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,550
$1,394
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,116
$1,084
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,676/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
167
85
19
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
85
19
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaurora roomamalfi townyogurtbus stop rightlarge bathroombeautiful seashort walkamazing viewssita busthe location is perfecteurogaragestairscoastterraceluggagedownhill
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 276 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed for 6 days and the stay greatly exceeded our expectations! We were warmly welcomed by the staff and we all enjoyed our stay. Excellent service, nice and clean rooms perfectly overlooking the cost area of Amalfi. Great stay – great people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Villa Maria Luigia was a wonderful stay. The views opening up to the Mediterranean Sea cannot be done justice with words-- the hosts were hospitable and the breakfast was great! Have coffee american style or a macchiato.

However my one qualm is that its on a relatively busy street, where you can hear the motor bikes zoom by and the Sita bus will honk as it rounds the corner. It is perfect if you are a sound sleeper because the walls are relatively thin as well, but if you need silence sleeping, this is not for you. It is a good 15-20 minute walk along roads that sometimes have no sidewalks (and they drive FAST in italy), but if the weather isn't too hot it is a wonderful walk. A bus from town to the hotel is 2.50 euro and you can usually buy tickets at small shops. The cab from center of town is 15 euro, or apparently 20 on Sundays due to the 'lift' they give, but not sure if we were scammed or if that is standard.

Overall enjoyed my stay and loved my visit to Amalfi! Thank you Villa Maria for introducing me to all the beauty Italy has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony rooms, and there is no access to the beach but may be able to ask hosts on how to gain access.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbug95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Villa Maria Luigia. We originally found the place via TripAdvisor and like most things from the site it greatly exceeded our expectations!

We were warmly welcomed by the staff who were extremely flexible and patient with us. We had seen the some of the pictures of the ocean view rooms online and had requested one when we originally booked our stay. Without complication, we were given a great room, that was very clean, free Wifi, and most importantly had an amazing view.

The hotel provides a wonderful breakfast each morning including a great selection of tea (for her) and an amazing cappuccino (for me). This breakfast was a huge deal being that it was delicious and saved us a ton of money, by not having to go into town for a 5 Euro cup of coffee.

One of the best things about the Villa Maria Luigia is you do not have to drive! It is a 10 minute walk to Amalfi were you can get the Sita (city bus) or a water taxi to any of the neighboring cities. If you haven't had the experience of driving along the coastline from city to city it is needless to say a nerve-racking experience. Having a hotel so close to one of the hub coastal cities was very much appreciated.

Really the only quasi-negative thing that I could say about this place is that there are very few restaurants within a 5 minute walk. There are very close neighboring hotel restaurants but when your on a budget and want to go were locals go, there are limited options. Also, walk back up the hill from Amalfi, though by no means is it far, is not something you want to do at 10 pm when your tired and hungry. We did find a little bar about 5 minutes away that actually served a pretty good pizza, and since we went on a saturday night, got to enjoy some pretty good local people watching as well.

All in all this was truly a great experience. I know that we plan on returning to the Villa Maria Lugia in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent 3 days at Villa Maria Luigia with a group of Italian friends and was our first time on the Costiera.
I have to say the location is perfect; just 1 km from Amalfi, with stunning sea views, a private garage for the cars and direct access to the beach through an elevator. The price per value of the vacation was excellent even though garage, elevator to the beach and beach space are services that have to be booked in advance and payed separately.
We did not book the garage, nor the elevator to the beach, nor the beach space because we had no clue of what our plans for the weekend were going to be and no idea of how crowded the beaches get on weekends, therefore once we realized that without these services it would have been a nightmare we asked the manager to book them for us on daily basis. Now here came the problem because the B&B does not have reserved slots for the elevator nor for the beach therefore even though the efforts of the management were incredible we did not manage to get to the beach on sunday; friday and saturday were fine.
It was our sole responsibility to book in advance and I do not feel that the hotel had any fault in how they took care of us and partially solved the issue but I suggest to all customers to get a booking for the elevator and the beach (not expensive at all) and if coming with the car you'd better book the garage as well.
If a suggestment to the management of the hotel can be given I would have preferred a higher price of the beach service but certainty of getting there. We spent only 15€ per person for the elevator and beach umbrella ecc when we would have easily payed twice as much but with the certainty of having a place on sunday as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days for our 20th anniversary. The place was fantastic. The Aurora room had a world class view! The staff was extremely helplful. One hint leave your car parked at the B&B and take the local bus to Amalfi and Ravello, parking in town is at a premium.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b767heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews