We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Great value ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Tari

Il Tari
Ranked #22 of 107 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Malta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food. Great value ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

One if the best priced restaurants we visited in Amalfi. Every plate was delicious including dessert. Definitely worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank Tmizzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    350
    96
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
waltham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is a little bit further up the main drag in Amalfi, and looks cute but can easily be passed by, but we are very glad we found it and decided to drop in for an excellent lunch. The menu is extensive but thoughtful and indicates quality. The buffalo mozzarella was the top 2 we had over 10 days throughout Italy. Best soup we had on our trip. Excellent pasta dishes. Very courteous service. Nice wine, at great prices. Walk past all the places lower down and head up to Il Tari for an authentic meal with welcoming service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bjsWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary food in a clean busy setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had eaten here a couple of years ago and found the food satisfactory.
This time I would describe the food as "tourist" style rather than real Italian cooking.
The quality was ordinary as was the taste.
Service was good though.
If you are seeking good Italian food - give it a pass!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice food, reasonably priced. Good for dinner in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place serves quite good pastas for reasonable prices.
We went there for a light supper, and ordered tomato salad for starter, which was seasoned well, alongside minestrone soup and pasta with pesto sauce. Portions were pretty large and the dishes were very filling, as well as delicious, though not extraordinary.
service was fine too, and the waiters were kind, but as almost in any restaurant in Amalfi, there are some uninvited singers that will make some unwanted noise in this quiet place...
Generally, it is a good place for dinner in Amalfi, and you'll probably won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
424 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Walked out!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went in about 7pm, shown to a choice of tables then just ignored. Got the attention of one of the waiters, who clearly didn't speak English, who brought us to the attention of another colleague. The second one gave us that 'let them wait they're only tourists' routine of failing to make eye contact, looking everywhere else but at us and busied himself dealing with people who had walked in way after us. After a quarter of an hour of being ignored we walked out, with no water, no drink or bread on the table. We didn't have the opportunity of seeing just how good their cuisine was; the menu certainly looked enticing but the service we failed to receive was never going to make this a memorable meal for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tari also viewed

 

Been to Il Tari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing