We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem!”
Review of Il Tari

Il Tari
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
waltham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a little gem!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This place is a little bit further up the main drag in Amalfi, and looks cute but can easily be passed by, but we are very glad we found it and decided to drop in for an excellent lunch. The menu is extensive but thoughtful and indicates quality. The buffalo mozzarella was the top 2 we had over 10 days throughout Italy. Best soup we had on our trip. Excellent pasta dishes. Very courteous service. Nice wine, at great prices. Walk past all the places lower down and head up to Il Tari for an authentic meal with welcoming service!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjsWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    448
    123
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Rather ordinary food in a clean busy setting”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had eaten here a couple of years ago and found the food satisfactory.
This time I would describe the food as "tourist" style rather than real Italian cooking.
The quality was ordinary as was the taste.
Service was good though.
If you are seeking good Italian food - give it a pass!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank blacmikOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice food, reasonably priced. Good for dinner in Amalfi”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This place serves quite good pastas for reasonable prices.
We went there for a light supper, and ordered tomato salad for starter, which was seasoned well, alongside minestrone soup and pasta with pesto sauce. Portions were pretty large and the dishes were very filling, as well as delicious, though not extraordinary.
service was fine too, and the waiters were kind, but as almost in any restaurant in Amalfi, there are some uninvited singers that will make some unwanted noise in this quiet place...
Generally, it is a good place for dinner in Amalfi, and you'll probably won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Omri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
565 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Walked out!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Went in about 7pm, shown to a choice of tables then just ignored. Got the attention of one of the waiters, who clearly didn't speak English, who brought us to the attention of another colleague. The second one gave us that 'let them wait they're only tourists' routine of failing to make eye contact, looking everywhere else but at us and busied himself dealing with people who had walked in way after us. After a quarter of an hour of being ignored we walked out, with no water, no drink or bread on the table. We didn't have the opportunity of seeing just how good their cuisine was; the menu certainly looked enticing but the service we failed to receive was never going to make this a memorable meal for us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Scrumptious”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After a rather long journey from Pozzuoli to the Amalfi, we were starving much earlier than is appropriate for dinner in Italy (like 5:30! lol). This place was close to our hotel and opened at 6pm. We were the first guests of the evening with low expectations - we feared a tourist trap because they opened so early. Not so! We shared the stuffed pepper appetizer, enjoyed the bruschetta 'gift' from the kitchen and order seafood ravioli (came w/ a crawfish-esque creature eyeing me on top) and something similar to lasagna rolls, respectively. And a bottle of very good, reasonably priced red wine i let the server choose for us.

Would recommend. Very cute white-themed interior w/ pained murals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kissthefr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tari also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Tari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing