We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great, friendly, romantic, helpful, all in superlatives” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda Costa d'Amalfi
Ranked #12 of 37 Amalfi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
1 review
“Great, friendly, romantic, helpful, all in superlatives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We were at Amalfi, Locanda Costa d'Amalfi on our honeymoon. We booked the room Positano with balcony. The room was great, beautiful cheramics, big bed, ample closet for baggege and clothes, nice bathroom, and a big terrace with seaview. It's 20 minutes walk away from the centre of Amalfi, but also has buses ride often, however we usually went down on feet, it is a nice walk. We could eat breakfast whenever we want, they serve it even in the room (but the lodge is very nice and ample so we had breakfast downstairs). Filomena and Pino are very nice and friendly people, everything we asked, they did it for us immediatley. We are grateful for that wonderful 5 days in Locanda Costa d'Amalfi.
Beatrix & Ürge

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ucika12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    61
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
119
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Excellent hotel to stay at if you are on a budget. The hotel is very clean and although lots of traffic in daytime , it gets quiet at night. Pino and Filomena are wonderful people and always available to help or answer any questions you want to know about the Amalfi Coast. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and certainly stay there again if I return to Amalfi. Great restaurant next door called Pesce d'oro.
Thanks Filomena and Pino
Mary Cefaratti & Joe Rodrigues

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madonna50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

I just got back from Italy last week and I must say that Amalfi was the best part. The owners of the hotel were extremely helpful in setting up things to do and places to see from a day trip to Pompeii, a relaxing guided excursion to Capri, to relaxing on one of the many enchanting local beaches. The owners drove us to and from the dock where we had to catch the boat for Capri and on the last moring they drove us to the bus station in town at 6:00am so we wouldn't miss our train to Florence! They were extremely thoughtful and giving...and they even forwared phone calls from the U.S.at all hours of the night! I stayed in the Furore which was a tripple room. The room was extremely clean and prepared everyday. The breakfast menu was vast and was included daily. We ate unlimited amounts of fresh fruit every morning...I have never had such delicious cantelope in my life! My husband and I are making plans to go to the Amalfi Coast within the next two years and we will be staying at "Locanda Costa d'Amalfi ". It definitely exceeded my expectiations for the price we paid. -Kimberly

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

The hosts of this hotel did everything to make my stay most enjoyable. They ran a small establishment downstairs and everyone stopped to have coffee or a drink. It was really a family feel. The people from the houses next door would come over and talk in the evening. The terrace outside my room overlooked the whole coastline and it was a stupendous view. i watched the sun rise and set from that terrace. It was about one mile outside of Amalfi and convenient to the bus line. Excellent Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giphtedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Great views and away from the hustle and bustle. Handy bus stop which is essential for the area (unless, of course you want to be bothered with a car). Great walking area with a challenge to and from the beach. Filomena and Pino were great hosts - nothing too much trouble. The restaurant across the road is a must more than once - ask Pino to arrange a good table.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo - Brasil
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

I spent 3 nights in Locanda Costa d´Amalfi with my wife Fabiana (it was our honeymoon) and we loved everything. I did a lot of research before choosing this place and I got very happy that I made the right choice.
The locanda is not fancy, but as we didn´t care about it, all that matters was:
- the hospitality of Pino and Filomena. Their English skills are not perfect, but we had a good time trying to understand each other in a macarronic italian;
- the spetacular view of our private terrace. Having a breakfast there was priceless;
- parking place. Just in front.
- near the bus stop. Best way to travel around. Totally necessary if you don´t want to have troubles driving. Buses come very often and it´s perfect to go have a dinner in Amalfi or Positano and then comeback to the hotel.
- the room was big and very, very clean.

I totally recommend this place.
Pino and Filomena, keep doing your job the way you do. And don´t raise prices until I come back...
Tanti Auguri from Brasil!
Daniel e Fabiana

  • Liked — Cleanliness, hospitality, location, views, etc..
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Danielcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Great little B&B with a beautiful view of the sea. 2 kilometers from the town of Amalfi. The hosts did not speak much English, but they were absolutely WONDERFUL! Even gave us a free ride into town to catch a ferry. Room was appropriate for the money. The balcony and view were tremendous (Positano room). Bathroom and AC were quite reasonable. Free parking. Two nice restaurants next door. Nice breakfast. Bus stop nearby. Being right on the Amalfi Coast Highway was great for logistics, but was the source of a fair amount of traffic noise. Much more quiet at night. On the whole, a great value.

  • Liked — Overall value
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HPTacoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amalfi hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfi
Hotel Amalfi
#21 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#9 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Collection Grand Hotel Convento di Amalfi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Doria
Hotel Doria
#17 of 29 in Amalfi
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 29 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Marina Riviera
Hotel Marina Riviera
#4 of 29 in Amalfi
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Costa d'Amalfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Costa d'Amalfi

Property: Locanda Costa d'Amalfi
Address: Via Giovanni Augustariccio 50, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Amalfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Amalfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Locanda Costa d'Amalfi 1.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Costa d'Amalfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing