We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good food & excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra

Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra
Ranked #3 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
583 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very good food & excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

we had an arrangement at the restaurant, but could not get any taxi to go there - so one of the service people picked us up from the centre of Amalfi and brought us back after dinner.
They make very good sea food and have a nice sorted wine card.
We have visited them in winter - I could imagine, they have a lot to do in sommer.
Very good food, nice wine & excellent service

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geralt-von-Rivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    125
    48
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you for recommending this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful from start to finish. Drove out 3 km from Amalfi towards Positano and was greeted by a gentleman directing us to the carpark. Lead to the door and taken upstairs to the beautifully appointed room which has stunning views of the twinkling coastline.
Greeted warmly by our waiter who advised us what to have and then greeted by the sommelier who chose our wines and so well too. The food was pure and natural and just beautifully flavoured. The meals are served, so professionally at your table. That alone was so interesting to watch. We never have dessert but we were just so excited by the flavours of the meal that we tried two and they added a sample of a third, Rum Babba, us and they were just lovely.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Delma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An Incredible Jewel of Culinary Excellence in Amalfi, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

One of our best friends in Rome recommended our having dinner at the Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mare e Terra in Amalfi, Italy, during our visit there. We weren't disappointed. We stayed in the Amalfi area for a total of eight days, and my wife and I concluded that it was the best restaurant we had dined in in the area during all that time, bar none. The restaurant, owned by the same family since the end of World War I, is now run by a father (Ciccio) and his three sons, Antonio, Giuseppi and Marco. Marco is the chef, and a great chef he is. Over the years, my wife and I have dined at quite a few two and three Michelin starred restaurants, and this restaurant, not yet having been given even one star, outshines many of those starred restaurants in both food and service. Incredibly, it was very reasonably priced too! Antonio is simply charming, and is in charge of the dining room, while Giuseppi is the resident wine expert. We liked the restaurant so much that we went back a second time. On that occasion, upon tasting one of Marco's fine dishes, I remarked how much it reminded me of a delicacy I used to enjoy when we were living in Japan. Only, it was better! Antonio then amazed me by describing the ingredients that went into the Japanese dish and how it differed from what I was eating that night. Ciccio, Antonio, Marco and Giuseppi have, indeed, created an incredible jewel of a restaurant there, overlooking the town of Amalfi. It's a shame that Trip Advisor only allows up to five stars, as I'd give it ten if I could. It's not to be missed!

MacroMicro

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MacroMicro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pampered with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

As others have reported, the staff at Trattoria Da Ciccio Cielo Mara a Terra in Amalfi go above and beyond to make the dining experience a memory to treasure. We contacted them by email, got a response right away, and were met near the bus stop in Amalfi Center by car and whsked 3 km west on the road to Positano by our waiter. On the way, the restaurant specials were described. The food was excellent; we especially loved the pumpkin soup- subtle blend of flavors with a crouton stuffed with prawns, fresh herbs, mild pumpkin. The fresh radicchio and other ingredients of our salad were grown at the farm in nearby Ravello. Our catch of the day bronzing was perfect with a light lemon sauce and the Meloncello was wonderful after dinner.

The service was attentive and expert, particularly with wine pairing by the sommelier. All in all a wonderful evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very good food an passionate sommelier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had an excellent dinner at Da Ciccio. The location is great, and tables located close to the terrace offer an amazing view. The staff is very friendly, the degustation menu is well worth the price. And the sommelier is very passionate about his job and about taking care that the wine meets the expectations of the client. He can provide good ideas if you want to buy wines from the surroundings (and also of course from all over Italy).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGregster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing