We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Seafood”

Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $46 - $75
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Seafood”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Being from Maine we do enjoy our seafood. We were really in for a treat here at Da Ciccio. We decided to have their set tasting menu , which turned out to be an excellent choice. The first course was a beautiful plate of seafood carpaccio,seasoned with olive oil and lemon - which just about had our eyes rolling back in our heads. Next came the seafood salad with clams, cuttle fish, octopus, squid and mussels, very fresh, very good. The pasta course was the signature dish cooked in parchment, it was tasty, and something we had not had before. Finally the main - a beautiful white fish, delicate and seasoned with lemon. It was deboned table side by the waiter, a nice touch. We had the chestnut torte for dessert , again a new taste for us and we chased it with an espresso. This was followed by a complimentary digestif of limoncello and meloncello, which we later tracked down in Amalfi and brought home with us.
This meal was one of the high points of our trip to Italy and we would return anytime !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pleasant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    150
    51
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful restaurant overlooking the Amalfi Coast. We stopped there for lunch on our day tour of the coast. We decided to try the signature seafood spaghetti in parchment and we were not disappointed. Our only disappointment was that they had sold out of their signature limoncello that was yummy as well. Would have loved to have been able to bring a bottle back home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SingleTraveler48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Family style dining taken to the next level”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

You must go for the pasta in a bag!! so delicious. The fish baked with potatoes was also unbelievable. Tried to make it at home it was so good. Great restaurant run by a fantastic family!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank choco_nut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on TA reviews for a birthday celebration while we were staying in Amalfi. All the positives already mentioned are true - you can be picked up and taken home by the restaurant and it is complimentary (a great plus considering the price of taxis on the Amalfi coast!), it is a family run business and the service reflects that, the use of their own homegrown organic produce is obvious along with freshly caught local seafood and the position ad views are sensational. The food is very traditional Italian and the waiters knowledge makes choosing what to have easier. After being dropped off at our villa after our meal one of our party realized that she had left her camera there. One call later and a staff member was dropping it off on his way home - great service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raine1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An almost complete rip-off!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had read good reviews of this restaurant, so I made a reservation about 6 weeks in advance. We were only spending one night in Amalfi after 3 weeks in Sicily and southern Calabria, so I wanted everything "set" for our last night before taking the train back to Scotland. I thought it would be a special night. Wrong!! The ONLY good part was being picked up, as it was pouring rain on Oct. 15. We entered a somewhat sterile room and were surrounded by folks speaking English--not the setting we prefer, but we'd already figured out that Amalfi is loaded with tourists. A friendly waiter greeted us, presented NO menus, and basically told us what we should eat--the specialty of the house (clams and spaghetti cooked in a parchment bag) which would be split for two and a ricciola (white fish that we'd eaten often in the south) that would be "plenty large" for two. We had no idea we were being "set up," as we had frequented restaurants in the south where no menus existed. As we were awaiting our "first plate," we noticed that other tables were being presented with menus, and there were interesting looking items were being served, which puzzled us. But we're not pushy and tend to be very trusting. The "signature dish" (split between us) was tasty--nothing special, but good. As it was being served, we asked our server to substitute the salad that he said went with the fish for grilled vegetables, which made him frown. Why? The ricciola was a very medium sized fish. It was de-boned in front of us (nothing unusual in that) and came with a decent lemon sauce, but it was hardly a feast for two. The grilled vegetables were adequate. The service to our table ended when the fish was put in front of us. About 10 minutes after finishing the meal, my husband finally grabbed a server to order 2 limoncellos and an expresso. Twenty minutes later nothing had appeared, but at least our dirty plates were picked up. Three bottles of cold liqueur were being taken to a table near us but were refused. I caught the servers eye and said, "May we please have the limoncello we ordered?" He plunked down the three bottles of liqueur, said they were complimentary, and left. Two of the liqueurs were horrid, and there was only one/half inch of limoncello in the third bottle. Okay, fine, we didn't want to linger anyway. We asked for the check, and were astonished that the bill was 96 euros. The one ricciola was 36 euros, and we had never paid more than 12 euros for the same fish. No wonder when we had initially said we would each like a fish our server had said one would be plenty! The "signature dish" was 17 euros--not a spectacular overcharge, but certainly not average for a pasta starter. My husband never challenges a bill, but I told him that I was SURE there was a mistake and that we had been charged for two ricciolas. So he asked, and we were given some drivel about the price being based on the weight of the fish and the fact that it was de-boned before our very eyes. We simply paid the bill. Fortunately, while my husband was signing the credit card, we were told that the car to take us back to our hotel was waiting. Our table was being stripped for the next diners as we stood up. Overall we felt that we had been "pegged" as people who could be "taken." The only saving grace was a 20 euro bottle of wine, "Lagrimas de Christo," which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Ciccio Cielo Mare E Terra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing