We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of the better Amalfi options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Smeraldino

Lo Smeraldino
Ranked #18 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $67
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Local historical milestone of the Amalfi Restaurant
Sydney
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the better Amalfi options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Walk along from the centre of Amalfi past the marina and you'll find this lovely restaurant full of locals. The venue itself is not that unique - a big room with a deck - but the view back to Amalfi is amazing and the food was among the best we sampled in the town. Make sure you get a deck table (if it's windy, ask for a back corner) and prepare to stuff yourself. The food here was very good value and contained lots of traditional Italian dishes as well as some from the region. The smoked mozzarella baked in lemon leaves was a generous and delicious starter. The whole sea bass (they debone it for you, although mine still had plenty of little bones lurking) was fresh and yummy. My husband tucked into an enormous pizza and no-one had room for dessert! Friendly service and slightly removed from the tourist traps.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    380
    100
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Directly on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a very nice seafood meal at this establishment. We had stopped for a quick glass of wine while walking around in the afternoon; the people were so nice we decided to make a reservation for dinner. The water side table we selected was ready as soon as we arrived. The seafood was excellent. Try the local Amalfi wine; the white goes great with seafood. It is inexpensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
457 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Very reasonable restaurant with a nice view of the harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Decent place to have lunch or dinner, with a nice view overlooking the larger yachts in the harbour; you can but dream! Its a bit out from the centre of Amalfi, being right at the end of the harbour promenade, but at least it is on the flat, which is unusual for the area, and is consequently not overly busy with hoardes of customers. Standard menu for the Sorrentine peninsula with a few twists. Their marinated fish starter was a nice departure from the norm, with the ceviche style swordfish being the star performer. The rest of the food was well-cooked and served with good, reasonably priced, house wines served in the bottle for a change. Service very reasonable and friendly. I'd go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good food, mixed service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate in this restaurant twice during our recent visit to Amalfi. The food is excellent, the pizzas are tasty and authentic but the service is very mixed. Situated at the end of the marina away from the main tourist area but offering a fabulous view over the bay. Lots of italians frequent this restaurant which is always a good sign. First visit consisted of excellent pizzas (wood fired oven I think) and lemon cake to die for. No wine list was offered neither was bread. Coffee good but then we waited over an hour for the bill - we seemed to have become invisible to the staff. Eventually had to go up to the cash desk to pay. My husband wanted to go back to try the fish despite the poor service and I was glad that we did. Perhaps the weekday staff are not the same as the weekend staff as it was a different restaurant. I had pasta this time which was beautifully cooked and my husband enjoyed the fish although said there wasnt a lot of it. Good lemon cakes (different ones this time) and complimentary limoncello's with the bill which redeemed them. Worth trying but probably best to avoid the weekend staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely restaurant on the marina.Food was very nice & the staff were very friendly.Excellent location too.No complaints at all.Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Smeraldino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Lo Smeraldino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing