We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better Amalfi options”
Review of Lo Smeraldino

Lo Smeraldino
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $67
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Local historical milestone of the Amalfi Restaurant
Sydney
Level Contributor
114 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“One of the better Amalfi options”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Walk along from the centre of Amalfi past the marina and you'll find this lovely restaurant full of locals. The venue itself is not that unique - a big room with a deck - but the view back to Amalfi is amazing and the food was among the best we sampled in the town. Make sure you get a deck table (if it's windy, ask for a back corner) and prepare to stuff yourself. The food here was very good value and contained lots of traditional Italian dishes as well as some from the region. The smoked mozzarella baked in lemon leaves was a generous and delicious starter. The whole sea bass (they debone it for you, although mine still had plenty of little bones lurking) was fresh and yummy. My husband tucked into an enormous pizza and no-one had room for dessert! Friendly service and slightly removed from the tourist traps.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VenturerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    431
    124
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Directly on the water”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a very nice seafood meal at this establishment. We had stopped for a quick glass of wine while walking around in the afternoon; the people were so nice we decided to make a reservation for dinner. The water side table we selected was ready as soon as we arrived. The seafood was excellent. Try the local Amalfi wine; the white goes great with seafood. It is inexpensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
545 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Very reasonable restaurant with a nice view of the harbour”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Decent place to have lunch or dinner, with a nice view overlooking the larger yachts in the harbour; you can but dream! Its a bit out from the centre of Amalfi, being right at the end of the harbour promenade, but at least it is on the flat, which is unusual for the area, and is consequently not overly busy with hoardes of customers. Standard menu for the Sorrentine peninsula with a few twists. Their marinated fish starter was a nice departure from the norm, with the ceviche style swordfish being the star performer. The rest of the food was well-cooked and served with good, reasonably priced, house wines served in the bottle for a change. Service very reasonable and friendly. I'd go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ollerbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
118 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food, mixed service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate in this restaurant twice during our recent visit to Amalfi. The food is excellent, the pizzas are tasty and authentic but the service is very mixed. Situated at the end of the marina away from the main tourist area but offering a fabulous view over the bay. Lots of italians frequent this restaurant which is always a good sign. First visit consisted of excellent pizzas (wood fired oven I think) and lemon cake to die for. No wine list was offered neither was bread. Coffee good but then we waited over an hour for the bill - we seemed to have become invisible to the staff. Eventually had to go up to the cash desk to pay. My husband wanted to go back to try the fish despite the poor service and I was glad that we did. Perhaps the weekday staff are not the same as the weekend staff as it was a different restaurant. I had pasta this time which was beautifully cooked and my husband enjoyed the fish although said there wasnt a lot of it. Good lemon cakes (different ones this time) and complimentary limoncello's with the bill which redeemed them. Worth trying but probably best to avoid the weekend staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank purpletravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely restaurant on the marina.Food was very nice & the staff were very friendly.Excellent location too.No complaints at all.Would definitely go back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaille F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Smeraldino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Lo Smeraldino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing