We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best places”
Review of Lo Smeraldino

Lo Smeraldino
Ranked #13 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $70
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Local historical milestone of the Amalfi Restaurant
2 reviews
“the best places”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I got there by an advice from locals, when I was trying to find a decent seafood place. And I wasn't disappointed at all, neither was my companion.
The interior is rather normal, nothing special. What makes it really exquisite, is food and service. Absolute high class - oysters, fish, risotto, wine - everything was among the best experience in life, and returning back to hotel we were still able to smell the dessert's amazing aftertaste.
The service deserve special word - the waiters are not just nice and professional, they are higly trained and you can see it in every move.
Of course, the place is a bit pricey, but it has everything that you can expect from the high level restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hofmanphili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    452
    129
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

On our way to Pompeei via amalfi our driver from Rome Driving Tours stopped at Lo smeraldino for lunch. We have a beatiful window seat with a view of the ocean on the Amalfi Coast. The meal consisted of tomatoes with fresh buffalo mozzarella (delicious),brushcetta, wine, different types of pasta, tiramisu, and lemoncello. All for 25 euros per person. It was delicious. This is a family run operation. Parking can be tricky, but it is definitely worth the trouble.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincentparillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good seafood on the beach”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had pranzo here recently on a sunny Sunday afternoon. The dining area is large and they have extensive outdoor seating for the summer. The waiters and owner were very friendly and willing to answer our questions on menu items. They provide a shorter menu but you can also order from their wider menu and there are daily specials.

We had the risotto con gamberi, secondi with fish and salads. With water and a half bottle of Ravello white the total was just over 80€.About average for Amalfi. They also offer pizza at lunch.

This was recommended by an expat in the area and we were pleased with the food, service and setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrunoAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really satisfied”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This restaurant overlooking the port of Amalfi reccomended by a policeman who asked where to park and eat , it left me very satisfied.

Delicious appetizer of seafood with clams, mussels, and bruschetta with tomatoes.

Delicious parmigiana fish azzurrods as a starter, excellent octopus squid and shrimps, anchovies stuffed with mozzarella for framing.

All'entree i had already figured out that it was the best fish dinner of my life,


We were advised the friendly waiters one first course, linguine with prawns, good good good


Fried fish really well done and not greasy, try it because it caught in the sea of Amalfi ( I saw a local fisherman come in with red sqiud )

Very complete wine with white wines unavailable

It is worth eating at this restaurant with panoramic views and fresh products.
.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robertbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We decided to put aside the bad reviews and try for ourselves. It was a relatively quiet Sunday night in October after the trippers had gone home. Our own experience was good service, a varied menu, reasonable prices, especially for wine which can be v expensive in Amalfi, good food and a stunning location in the harbour. Can certainly recommend this restaurant..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedgehog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Smeraldino also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Lo Smeraldino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing