We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in Amalfi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eolo

Eolo
Via Pantaleone Comite, 3, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
089-871241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in Amalfi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Eolo restaurant is clearly one of the best you will find in Amalfi region. Service is top notch with an extensive wine list and menu. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lalimeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    75
    21
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One of the best in Amalfi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Eolo is one of the best restaurants I have been in Amalfi,together with Da Gemma. The food is very good, lobster salad is a must try. There is a great sea view if you book ahead a table near window. Service is great, wine list is really good. Definitely recommended in Amalfi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just fine.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Maybe we hit an off night, but we found the place pleasant enough but not out of the ordinary. Service was indifferent, and food was OK. But no complaints, how can you have a bad meal in Italy? :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Astilbe_Arendsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Eolo is a top tier Italian restaurant located in the eastern part of Amalfi. My wife and I were in Amalfi as part of our honeymoon and staying in the hotel next door, Marina Riviera. The hotel recommended Eolo (the hotel also owns the restaurant) and made the reservation for us. The food was traditional Italian (Starters, pastas, second course, full wine menu and dessert ), with a heavy emphasis on seafood and a large wine menu. The pasta seafood dish was fantastic as was the starter that we ordered. As for the drink menu they had wines from nearly region of Italy, including a strong selection from the Salenero / Amalfi area. The service was also very good, as the wait staff was attentive and kept the wine pouring. Seats near the windows have fantastic views of the Amalfi, oddly we were given a seat far from the window even though we were the second couple in the restaurant and had a reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen_koehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We went here on our last night in Amalfi. It is definitely a touristy place (I don't think there was one local there dining), but the food was superior. First off, try to get one of the 3 tables by the window, which has a breathtaking view. Reservations are a must, we could not get into this place for 2 days. The food was excellent, fresh, unique dishes. My husband loves grilled shrimp Scampi and we didn't see it on the menu, but when we asked them, they told us that it's not a problem and prepared the Scampi especially for us, and they were delicious. Definitely, worth visiting this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alicina79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eolo also viewed

 

Been to Eolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing