We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected sublime experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gemma

Da Gemma
Via Fra Gerardo Sasso,11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 102 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $79
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected sublime experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

My brother and I just ate here last night after multiple local recommendations. The attention from the staff, humility of the Chef and then of course, the art of the food...impeccable. We had a local specialty, paccheri, filled with spinach and cheese, with a seafood sauce that enhanced the pasta with a nice note. Also an antipasti which included melt-in-your mouth prosciutto atop this amazing ricotta cream cheese. The highlight for me was grilled mozzarella wrapped in a lemon leaf, which intensified the cheese with an earthy lemon fragrance. For main course my bro had the local snapper which was whole baked in a salt crust, served with diced potatoes. I had the tuna seared with balsamic reduction, accompanied by couscous which was interlaced with pumpkin puree. There was great harmony and balance of all flavors, without steering too far from traditional Amalfitani cuisine. Innovative, and I could tell a lot of love goes into this art. Truly we had no room left for dessert, but they graciously offered us a sampler of mini cookies and limoncello to complete this experience. Hope we can go back again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieAntoinette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

what a great place, the food was really very good, not cheap but certainly not overly pricey.
The seafood soup was outstanding and the whole experience for my wife and I was really very good.
Would certainly recommend, make sure you are hungry before you go, the servings are very generous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Somewhat Pretentious Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We passed through 3 levels of staff before we were finally offered one of two tables in a nearly empty restaurant. Dinner was OK but staff were overbearing. Overpriced compared to other good restaurants in Amalfi.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

With a slight drizzle happening we noticed the covered second floor balcony dining just off the duomo square and we won. Beautiful setting, fabulous staff, and each item we were served exceeded our expectations. This is what fine dining in Italy should taste and feel like. Treat yourself and you too will be writing a review

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwheatleyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amalfi without the crush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you want a great meal in the town of Amalfi AND you want to avoid the crush of the main "street" this is a great place.
This not a Pizza & Pasta place. This is a serious restaurant with some serious food.
The food is terrific! If they have the Tuna "Sausages" on the menu make certain to order them. You will be amazed - I was.
The service the friendly and not pushy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AU-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gemma also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing