We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gemma

Da Gemma
Via Fra' Gerardo Sasso 11, 84011, Amalfi, Italy
+39 089 871345
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 107 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

what a great place, the food was really very good, not cheap but certainly not overly pricey.
The seafood soup was outstanding and the whole experience for my wife and I was really very good.
Would certainly recommend, make sure you are hungry before you go, the servings are very generous.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    334
    98
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Somewhat Pretentious Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We passed through 3 levels of staff before we were finally offered one of two tables in a nearly empty restaurant. Dinner was OK but staff were overbearing. Overpriced compared to other good restaurants in Amalfi.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

With a slight drizzle happening we noticed the covered second floor balcony dining just off the duomo square and we won. Beautiful setting, fabulous staff, and each item we were served exceeded our expectations. This is what fine dining in Italy should taste and feel like. Treat yourself and you too will be writing a review

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwheatleyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amalfi without the crush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

If you want a great meal in the town of Amalfi AND you want to avoid the crush of the main "street" this is a great place.
This not a Pizza & Pasta place. This is a serious restaurant with some serious food.
The food is terrific! If they have the Tuna "Sausages" on the menu make certain to order them. You will be amazed - I was.
The service the friendly and not pushy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AU-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington, United States
1 review
“The Best In Amalfi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Last month I attended a wedding in a Amalfi and on our last night 24 of us enjoyed a delicious 4 course dinner! I highly recommend the tuna carpaccio salad, lemon rosotto and tiramissu for dessert! The staff was excellent and everything was perfecto! Don't miss out if your in Amalfi..."Da Gemma" is a Gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gemma also viewed

 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing