We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pricy but top drawer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Da Gemma

Da Gemma
Ranked #6 of 101 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricy but top drawer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful menu excellent preparation and service. While a bit pricy its well worth treating yourself at least once.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    354
    104
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed this 140 year old trattoria in the Amalfi Coast. The outdoor terrace on the second floor overlooks Via Lorenzo busy backstreet.The atmosphere is upscale but relaxed enough. A must order is their regional specialty of grilled octopus. Reservations up to a day in advance are essential for a seat outside. We had our concierge at our hotel make the reservation in advance for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_traveled13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We ate at Da Gemma in Amalfi last evening, our first night in town. Upstairs above the central square, it was a few blocks from our hotel. We got a table at the outer edge of the deck area, overlooking the street below full of Sunday evening action. The service was impeccable; they took the initiative to split portions of orders we said we wanted to share without charging extra. The pacing of the meal was perfect, not rushed, not waiting too long. Our server spoke English well and was gracious and attentive, but not over attentive (don't you hate the American wait staff that comes back over and over and asks if everything is OK?). We had a lovely appetizer of a light provolone cheese with eggplant, peppers, and shavings of fennel, followed by a perfect linguine with very fresh shellfish. The cod with spinach and tomato that my wife chose was wonderful. Just slightly less special, the baked catch of the day- fish was perfectly prepared, the potatoes along side uninspired. We skipped dessert, but were brought a plate of 4 confections x2- bite sized and luscious. Would certainly go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WMKMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
244 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Shame we couldn't stay longer.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We called into Amalfi during our shore tour of the region, having just left Ravello and we still had to visit Positano before going back onto the ship.

When we arrived in Amalfi, the skies opened up and it poured. It was around lunchtime and everyone dashed into nearby cafes, restaurants and bars.

We were hungry and spotted da Gemma up a flight of stairs. We were seated straight away and we explained our time constraint - only 1 hour! They served us in a very timely manner and we both enjoyed our meals very much. The menu was very extensive with very interesting dishes we would loved to have tried.

If we are ever on the Amalfi coast again, we would certainly drop in and dine here - and linger longer!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grandview301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, best seafood along Amalfi coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The B&B recommended this resturant to us. It is a seafood restaurant which I like very much. The taste is wonderful even for Asians. We ordered the lobster pasta and fish soup. Especially the fish soop, really delicous (3 big local fishes and amounts of clams, shrimps, squids, etc.) and very big (enough four adults)

Really a wonderful ending for our two weeks vocation in Italy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank juliaxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gemma also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing