We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable risotto”
Review of Da Gemma

Da Gemma
Ranked #7 of 106 Restaurants in Amalfi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $82
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unforgettable risotto”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went to Da Gemma after reading the reviews at Tripadvisor. To be honest, I did not expect such a gastronomy feast at all ! I am a frequent traveler and have been to many good restaurants all over the world including fancy Michelin stars. The lemon risotto with shrimps I had here was the best risotto I have had in my life. Not only that, the appetizers and anything you will try will be a good surprise to you. I have tried other restaurants in Amalfi, surely there are couple more nice ones but if you skip Da Gemma, you really will regret it for the rest of your life. No exageration, just go there and thank me later!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eren3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,229
    425
    130
    58
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An unexpected sublime experience...”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My brother and I just ate here last night after multiple local recommendations. The attention from the staff, humility of the Chef and then of course, the art of the food...impeccable. We had a local specialty, paccheri, filled with spinach and cheese, with a seafood sauce that enhanced the pasta with a nice note. Also an antipasti which included melt-in-your mouth prosciutto atop this amazing ricotta cream cheese. The highlight for me was grilled mozzarella wrapped in a lemon leaf, which intensified the cheese with an earthy lemon fragrance. For main course my bro had the local snapper which was whole baked in a salt crust, served with diced potatoes. I had the tuna seared with balsamic reduction, accompanied by couscous which was interlaced with pumpkin puree. There was great harmony and balance of all flavors, without steering too far from traditional Amalfitani cuisine. Innovative, and I could tell a lot of love goes into this art. Truly we had no room left for dessert, but they graciously offered us a sampler of mini cookies and limoncello to complete this experience. Hope we can go back again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieAntoinette2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Solid Experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Recommended to us by friends, and all in all, we had a very good experience. Both the staff and service were terrific. The mixed fish ceviche sampler was truly outstanding. The rest of our meal - pasta di nonna and poached sea bass - was very good, though admittedly not anything exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely view of bustling Amalfi and tip top food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spotted Da Gemma when strolling looking for a restaurant and immediately seized the opportunity to take a terrace table looking over the bustling town of Amalfi. This is traditional Italian with traiditional food and we received a warm welcome, niblets and an explanation of the menu and wine card. My veal was absolutely outstanding and my wife commented that the Pasta was the best we had ever eaten. FInished off by lovely Italian Ice Cream, we left vowing to come back and recommended this as one of the top restaurants in Amalfi wher you can combine excellent food and wine with the Amalfi sunset and at very reasonable prices too

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBJB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Da Gemma's is a gem! Excellent service and really good traditional food.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We hadn't booked a table( advisable) so we were lucky to get in. We chose the 4 course traditional menu at 55 euros a head- not cheap but worth it if you haven't eaten all day! We were given a tasty little pre - starter to get the appetite going and then the double starter of anchovies stuffed with mozzarella on freshly chopped tomatoes and also parmigiana melanzane. This was followed by Nonna Gemma's famous pasta dish with slow cooked beef a la genovese. Then an enormous seafood casserole with squid/ prawns/ crayfish/ mussels / clams and more in a rich tomato sauce. Finally an unusual dessert of aubergine tart with chocolate and buffalo milk ice cream. Everything was delicious- it's only a personal thing but the pasta tubes were a little too al dente for us. Atmosphere attentive and friendly- not pretentious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Gemma also viewed

Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 
Amalfi, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Da Gemma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing