We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stunning scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay of Naples

Bay of Naples
Book In Advance
$1,028.37*
and up
Capri Private Boat Tour from Positano or Praiano or Amalfi
Ranked #713 of 1,961 things to do in Campania
Attraction details
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed in a hotel near Sorrento. There were plenty of hotels on the cliff top where you could get a fabulous meal and look out over the Bay of Naples, watching the twinkling lights of Naples itself reflected in the sea. What a view. Brilliant for romantic couples. Naples itself is a place of contrasts. Some of the poorer areas can be a little bit scary, especially when we were constantly warned of pickpockets and handbag thieves. Howsoever, don't be put off by this. Just take precautions like you would in any big city.. Head for the historic centre and amongst the narrow and run down streets you will find amazing gems of architecture and stunning churches. Sip coffee or have an ice cream in one of the many historic squares.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    4
    3
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Naples...Via La Toledo to Giraldo Central Station/Sorrento/Pick Pockets”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It's August 16, 2013 and just yesterday we were pick pocketed in Naples 1 block from the train Station in Naples. We are sophisticated New Yorkers, even prepared for pick picketers after reading Rixk Steve's and other tour guides. It was a HORRIBLE experience and we can not recommend enough NOT TO GO TO NAPLES. It is a dirty city with a lot of poor sections. This is our story. My husband made sure to put his wallet in in pants pocket that was sealed with a button. he kept another wallet, with no money, in his back pocket just in case a pick picketer reached for his pants pocket in the back. Here's what these professional pick picketers do. They design a distraction. In our case, a young couple purposefully fell in front of my husband hitting him. In that one moment, a dark skinned, fat woman and dark skinned man with a limp pushed against my husband fastened, front pocket and swiped his wallet containing everything. We went to the police station in the Central Station not far from the Royal Palace and the Italian police were not helpful. As it turns out, as we were standing in the police station, our teenage son noticed the dark skinned man with the police. The police caught him and another woman but could not locate our wallet. Although they did interrogate the man, there was little they could do for us as their was no money on the thief. They also spoke minimal English and as we had NO money, left us to our own devices to get back to our hotel near Sorrento. All we had on us was the police report and somehow we managed to get back by train and shuttle to our hotel. We called our credit cards to cancel, and somehow the credit card company was able to charge a credit advance for our hotel to give us the minimum back in Euros to get us to our next destination. WORD OF ADVICE: EMAIL YOURSELF A LIST OF ALL CREDIT CARD NUMBERS AND PASSWORDS WITH ANY OTHER PAPERS YOU KEEP IN YOUR WALLET AND WE CANNOT EMPHASIZE ENOUGH-DO NOT GO TO NAPLES!!!!!! WE ARE QUITE ALERT AND SAVVY NEW YORKERS AND IF THIS HAPPENED TO US IT COULD HAPPEN TO ANYONE?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
1,688 reviews
972 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5,038 helpful votes
“Great bay, not so good city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Loved the Bay area with nice scenery. A lot of the town though is very dirty and there are some slum sections. OK for a visit but we stayed in Sorrento instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TraveltheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idillic Landscape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Only drove through here on a trip around Italy but the landscape here is absolutely stunning!! I love Italy in general but this is one of the highlights if you enjoy just walking around and taking in a view.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Batchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We took a trip out to Naples when we were staying in Rome/ Hired the services of a driver named Dominic and this was the best thing we could have done. The car was spotless, the driver was informative and helpful. He was trustworthy and gave us the most wonderful tour ot Naples, the Bay and the old town, the places of interest and Pompeii. It was a fantastic trip, the views were spectacular and well worth a visit.We were warned about the unscupulous people around the station and our driver ensured our safety at every step.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bay of Naples also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Anacapri, Island of Capri
 
Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Bay of Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing