We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional style hotel, friendly service, excellent!”
Review of Arhondiko Zarkada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arhondiko Zarkada
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monodendri
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Traditional style hotel, friendly service, excellent!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is beautifully situated in Monodendri Village. You get a very nice view in the morning. It is traditionally decorated. The rooms are big, with excellent facilities and even offer wood for the fireplace! Perfect for a relaxing evening! The staff is very friendly too. I definitely recommend it.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
23
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is in a beautiful Monodendri village near the Vikos gorge. The hotel and the rooms look as wee renovated recently. they are in good shape. There is small and nice swimming pool outside the building where the kids had fun. Food in the restaurant is good service is good and friendly with nice atmosphere. The value for money is extremely high.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the ideal place to relax and unwind. If you're looking for nightlife and beaches, you'll be disappointed, but if you want to spend some quality time far away from all the fuss of modern life, this is the place. The rooms are spacious (we were given the chance to choose between three different rooms so we got a good look at them) and cosy, with fireplace and DVD players (there is a DVD collection available), there is a pool table, a table tennis table outside, a little pool and vast areas where you can sit and relax.
And then there's the restaurant. You have to taste the "kokkinisto" (veal with sauce and chips). I don't know what they put in the sauce but it was by far the best one I've ever eaten. Not that the other dishes weren't great too.
Overall, the hotel and the surrounding area (including the amazing place about 5 km uphill, where you can admire the breathtaking view of the Vikos Gorge) has a calming effect on you and it's ideal for somebody who wants to spend some time at this beautiful corner of Greece.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James_Vlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The place is really nice - Vikos canyon- and the rooms are in a good condition. Though the service though will not attract you. There is a nice restaurant to eat in the permises with a very welcome enviroment. Like at the good common areas of the hotel, non-like on the non smiley face of the owner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grigorios P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Over the Canyon Vikos in the heart of Zagori area in northern Greece, you will find this hotel in the beautiful village Monodendri.
There we were staying, my wife and me, two magical days
Note to the restaurant located just below the hotel, where you will enjoy the best of authentic food and a warm and cordial service.

Room Tip: Please keep your tips about rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uri_Har
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv, ISRAEL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

The hotel is situated in the upper part of the village, but there is no view from it.
There was nothing to do at night, maybe because it was early tourist season.
The place is dark (saving electricity) with "old" decor in the room which was not to our taste.... The bed is high above floor level, comfotrtable matress.
Breakfast was ok, items eaten were not replenished ....
Make sure you are not charged for the fireplace in the room if you didn't ask for it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yogev_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The location is perfect, excellent room in terms of size and style. It was not very clean overall, the heating system made disturbing noises, and during some parts of the day it was centrally set to a low temperature. Breakfast was not meeting my expectations, the food was rather poor quality. There was no wireless internet in the room. Next time, I'd try something else, there may be better places as there seem to be plenty of them in the area. But maybe I'm wrong. You can have a good time in this hotel I guess. In terms of recommending this, I am between yes and no. The place could improve with little effort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iuliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monodendri
6.2 mi away
Papaevangelou Hotel
Papaevangelou Hotel
#1 of 3 in Papigko
5.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zagori Suites Hotel
Zagori Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in Vitsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aristi Mountain Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Aberratio Boutique Hotel
2.3 mi away
Archontiko Dilofou
Archontiko Dilofou
#1 of 1 in Dilofo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.1 mi away
Primoula Country Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arhondiko Zarkada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arhondiko Zarkada

Property: Arhondiko Zarkada
Address: Monodendri Zagoriou | Monodendri Zagoriou, Monodendri 250 02, Greece
Location: Greece > Epirus > Ioannina Region > Monodendri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monodendri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arhondiko Zarkada 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arhondiko Zarkada was built with a great artistry here in Monodendri, Zagori (Ioannina - Greece). Every now and again new rooms are being built so that the guests will get the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arhondiko Zarkada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing