We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Reggio Calabria
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
126
206
93
33
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
126
206
93
33
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor nice hotel globus tour large windows every member of staff going out of their way bath products mount etna the hotel staff double bed spacious rooms museum promenade conference lungomare eyes statues
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 466 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019

The Grand Excelsior has definitely seen better days, but the rooms are still clean and comfortable. Wi-fi works well and the quality of the food at the restaurant is good, especially for dinner. The breakfast could have a little more variety and less cakes and cookies. The front desk staff were mixed, some very helpful and some quite rude. The location is good, especially as it is behind the museum with the Riace bronze statues, which is well worth the visit. Nothing fancy, but the hotel hits the basics.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 7JSime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019 via mobile

This is certainly a grand hotel, but not in a modern sense. It's like stepping back in time : spacious, comfortable lounges, padded walls, ornate stylings, etc. If this is your thing, you'll be delighted staying here.
The service is particularly good with every member of staff going out of their way to ensure you are never left wanting.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank only-ollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

I recently stayed at the Grand Hotel Excelsior in Reggio Calabria, and had a completely awesome stay. This was a family vacation to see where my grandfather grew up early in the 1900's. We loved Reggio, and explored many of its historical sites, restaurants and surrounding villas. The food in Southern Italy is the best in the country, and the people are very friendly. The hotel staff all did a great job making recommendations and suggestions, and provided much needed directions at times, for we spoke very little Italian. Irene was completely amazing and really made my trip there worth while. She is friendly, funny and has those amazing Italian eyes. Overall, great stay at this facility, and I look forward to my next stay when I return to the region. Ciao!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JohnnyPaisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

We stayed one night at this hotel as part of a Wilderness Travel hiking trip. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was very good. The hotel is well-located, overlooking the promenade and the ocean, beautiful views. The building is nothing to write home about, but the rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was extravagant in variety and very good quality.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

We had a seaview suite. It was a nice and spacious. The bathroom was large and full of amenities and mirrors. Shower excellent. The view was not perfect - the water was off to the side, directly below us was a building in need of repair. Breakfast was a buffet with many choices. The dining area had large windows with great views of the water and Mount Etna. The lobby had several couches and sitting areas - perfect for meeting our group of eight (four couples). The woman receptionist was friendly and helpful. Location was excellent. Promenade was close. Metro too. Excellent gelato right across the street. Pedestrian avenue with many shops nearby. And the famous Riaci bronze statues were also just a block away at the museum!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationOffice, back office at Grand Hotel Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2018

Dear Maria, many thanks for your review and for staying in our Hotel during your visit in Reggio Calabria. Your opinion is very important for us and for our high-class standards. Daily we work for the love of it and it is a pleasure to satisfy all guest's request .We hope to see you again at The Grand Hotel Excelsior, best regards. Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews