We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reggio Calabria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Reggio Calabria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel is in a good location In town centre overlook promenade with views of Messina Straits.had booked Hotel Palace Masonris but was closed & all guests accommodated here.do not use Airport taxi mafia who rip off tourists ,use hotel airport transfer for € 20.Lobby is nice with good furniture/lights & paintings.staff are friendly & helpful.conferences are held here so can get busy.the lift are slow & old! Rooms are standard size but needs modernising(asked for Queen bed got 2 singles.room has TV,desk chair,mini bar,aircon.bathroom is old style & small ,good selection of toiletries.no in room food menu?Housekeeping keep rooms clean.Airline staff stay here.Breakfast is on 5th floor with great views of the Straits.Buffet breakfast is continental(but no hot items),fruit selection could be improved.Lunch/Dinner can get very busy but menu has wine/fresh fish & food is high quality.hotel also provides Free wifi which is fast.they should do sandwiches/snacks in lobby for guest as Lunch/Dinner have fixed meal times

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 366 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. When we checked in late at night the receptionist gave us two separate rooms, but didn't bat an eyelid when we asked for one room only with a double bed. The next day we understood why they'd allocated two rooms - apart from the fact that I guess they don't get that many gay couples staying, there were several groups of workers staying the the hotel who were sharing rooms.
The rooms are a bit dated, but in a genuine 1970s over-the-top velours kind of way. The room was massive, with a huge bed, and a nice balcony overlooking the straits of Messina with a view straight across to a snow-topped Etna. The hotel is just beside the municipal fine arts museum which holds the stunning Riace bronzes (but very little else, though still worth the entrance fee).
The staff were friendly and accommodating. All in all, good value and a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roving_aesthete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Where to begin.....my husband and I stayed here for a night with a tour group. We stayed in six different hotels throughout Italy and Sicily and this was my least favorite. It had seen better days from the lobby to the rooms. The room was small, which is fine, but it also had faded, stained carpets, and the comforter on the bed was suspect. The window in the room looked into the rooms in the building accross the street, and on the street was lots of dumpster to add to the ambiance. I can tell that in it's heyday it was truly a grand place. And I imagined Mafia Dons staying here, knowing it was top notch. Its kind of what it reminded me of. We had dinner on the top floor of the hotel and the view is great. The ocean, the island of Sicily and the main promenade of Reggiano Calabria. But the food was not good. In fact it was crappy. I don't know if it was just because we were given "tour" food or if all of it was bad. It takes alot for me to say that, but we are in Italy for God's sake. We got a rubbery chicken breast, soggy green beans and a few sliced of potato that seemed to be boiled. That's a wrap. Very dissapointing. this place had seen better days, but so has Reggiano Calabria. Perhaps if the town spruces up it would allow the hotel to also. Don't know.

Room Tip: I understand there are rooms with an ocean view. Ask for one!! If not you may end up with a dumpster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location could not be better - overlooking the Promenade and the Straits of Messina. Also next door to the museum that used to house the Riace Bronzes but these are now in a building across the other side of town. The underground car park is a reassuring feature.
The state of the hotel is a little worn and whilst nothing to cause any bother it has clearly not be renovated in a long time.
The restaurant was good with interesting fish dishes and a panoramic view.
There are few decent hotels in this part of Calabria so worth remembering.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamblingRose1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Our tour group stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in May, and it was a perfect base for sightseeing. From here we toured Scilla, Gerace, and had a stop in Taormina.

The hotel is perfect for walking along the promenade, etc. The terrace at the restaurant had lovely views, and the food was perfectly fine. All in all, a good stay

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fivepno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was startled by the appearance when I drove up to this aging hotel along the beach prominade. It looks like it has seen better days. The inside looks much nicer, although it can be updated. My single room was clean, comfortable and spacious. There was free internet in the hotel. The restaurant on the top floor had an OK view. The dinner and breakfast were average. The seaside prominade became alive at night.....during the Sunday afternoon I was there the streets were empty. There is a good gelato shop across the street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoFLTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great hotel centrally located close to the bronze museum and Riviera of Calabria with the famous "best Italian mile promenade". The best thing about the hotel is the Ristorante Gala on the top terrace with the view of the city and seaside looking over the Messina Straits. Ask the head waiter to set up your 5 course dinner bringing out the best of the local Italian kitchen. Do please try the swordfish with spaghetti “alla carbonara”. Fantastico!! The wine is superb and please ask the head waiter to put together some wines for you to buy before you leave the restaurant.
Many visitors do tend to forget about Reggio Calabria just staining one night for the museum and then head over to Sicilia. I would recommend to explore the area and get some tips from the hotel spending a couple of days.
Enjoy! Martin from Norway

Room Tip: Sea side view and close to the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 423Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reggio Calabria
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#1 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Medinblu
Hotel Medinblu
#2 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
E' Hotel
E' Hotel
#5 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Albanuova Hotel
Albanuova Hotel
#4 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
223 reviews
8.8 mi away
Altafiumara Resort & SPA
Altafiumara Resort & SPA
#1 of 5 in Villa San Giovanni
398 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Palace Masoanri’s
Hotel Palace Masoanri’s
#12 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Excelsior

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 66, 89123, Reggio Calabria, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Reggio Calabria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reggio Calabria
Price Range: $105 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Excelsior is located in the historic and commercial center of Reggio Calabria, in the splendid natural scenery of the Strait of Messina, in front of the National Museum of the "Magna Grecia" which hosts the famous Bronzi di Riace, close to the sea and the lovely Italo Falcomata shoreline drive (Italy’s most beautiful kilometre). The main tourist attractions can all be reached on foot from the hotel: the cathedral, the art museum, the Cilea theatre, the San Giorgio church, Villa Zervi, the Aragonian Castle and the Ottimati church. Hotel guests are just a short walk from Corso Garibaldi for a nice stroll or for a shopping excursion. Refined and elegant, with a spacious Business Centre and exclusive Roof Garden, the Grand Hotel Excelsior is the ideal solution for business travellers or for romantic weekend getaways in the lovely Calabrian city. Located just 4 km from the airport, our hotel is ideal even for the most demanding of guests and a perfect temporary headquarters for business travellers. The Business centre of Grand Hotel Excelsior can host up to 200 people and offer an extensive variety of room dimension and utility; Congress halls, suites for smaller business meetings or brief seminars. These comfortable luminous fully equipped spaces will add to your Event, congress or business meeting a touch of elegance and professionality. The Grand Hotel Excelsior has 84 rooms, all of which are elegant and comfortable. Of these, 8 suites have a spacious living area. Furnished tastefully, many of them have a splendid view of the seafront and the Straits of Messina. A high standard of quality answers the needs of those on business trips or travelling. At the 5th floor of the Grand Hotel Excelsior you will find the Restaurant Gala and the best view of the city and the Straits of Messina. Restaurant offers the regional and Mediterranean cuisine and an excellent traditional Italian cooking. The renowned exclusive and refined atmosphere make it an ideal place for a Gala, Business dinners, but also intimate and romantic panoramic terrace overlooking the Straits and watching the sunset, unforgettable! professional barmen. Gala Restaurant is open all year round for resident guests and visitors. In the spacious and welcoming hall is located Lounge Bar “Excelsior” it serves informal and appetising aperitifs and cocktails prepared by professional barmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Grand Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Excelsior Reggio Calabria/Reggio Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing