We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find in a lovely town.”
Review of B&B Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Casa Blanca
Ranked #4 of 145 Reggio Calabria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Glad to see lots of nice things written about Sergio. He was a lovely host who helped us at every turn, be it advising us where to grab a much needed beer and pizza after a long drive, where to go for a perfect cappuccino in the morning, or where to go locally for a good trip out. He sent us to the places he said he liked to go, and we weren't ever disappointed. We visited over Easter, so the town was quiet with a lot of places closed the whole time we were there, but Sergio didn't point us towards a single dud. Lovely guy, who keeps a beautifully decorated and furnished B&B. Loads more style compared to lots of other places I've seen or heard about in Italy. Amazing original stone floor in our room.

Sergio provides fresh pastries and bread for the morning, which is a lot better than the usual melba toast in a packet you get elsewhere (although I think he has that too).

B&B is well placed to get to by car from the main road but doesn't feel at all close to anything busy. There's loads of one way streets which makes it interesting but there's a street next to the B&B that's free to park on. Sergio will show you. Very close walk to the sea front where you can see Sicily and grab an amazing coffee. Equally close to some of the main parts of the town with shops, bars and restaurants.

We felt really welcomed and looked after and would always recommend this place. If you're thinking about booking then I know it helps Sergio if you contact him directly rather than going through an agent as they take a sizeable chunk of the price. We'd definitely go back and hopefully will be later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Sergio, the B&B owner, truly makes his "home" feel like our home, accomodating every need of the traveler, going above and beyond to make for a relaxing and fun-filled vacation. Our family was met by him at the small Reggio airport and shown to the B&B. It was late but he reserved dinner for us at the nearby cantina for a filling four course Calabrian meal.

We were shown around the walkable town of Reggio with its many shops and romantic walk by the sea. Truly a beautiful and lively town but peaceful and friendly.

Our son proposed to his girlfriend in the nearby town of Scylla, as suggested by Sergio, who then furnished a complementary bottle of champagne--how thoughtful.

With respect to the B&B, it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean, as well as quiet to any outside noise. My wife and I are light sleepers, but both days had difficulty waking up, as we slept so well. Breakfast included Italian pastries, fruit, and cereals, as well as juice, tea, or coffee--perfect way to start the day.

All our questions were addressed by Sergio, who speaks flawless English.

Again, I cannot speak highly enough of the thoughtfulness and comfort of Sergio's Casa Blanca B&B.

Room Tip: All rooms have a window. You may have a choice of a room with a view of the street area (which is v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We only stayed one night, but the owner, Sergio, was so friendly and helpful. My cousins and I took 3 of the 5 rooms and had a great time. Very clean, rooftop garden sitting area, charming.
My husband and I had the loft bedroom which was a little warm for sleeping even though the b&b is air conditioned. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vickiehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The room was lovely, the two guys who run the B & B couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
BUT!! the room was so noisy for the two nights I stayed I did not get any sleep. There is a restaurant down stairs that I could hear every single thing, and then at 1am they started cleaning up and moving - dragging - tables across the concrete floor.
You can hear EVERYTHING from the other rooms and passageways, they people might just as well be in your room. I had to ask at 11.30pm for the girl who helps run the B & B who was showing someone a room to be quiet please!!
Breakfast - hmmmmm - some cereal and slices of cake left out to help yourself, and a coffee machine that is down a flight of stairs but is so loud you know when someone is having a drink.
If they can somehow do something about the noise this would be a great place to stay. Unfortunately I couldn't recomment this place to anyone!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for a back room - the traffic slows down in the early hours of the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bbcasablanca, Proprietario at B&B Casa Blanca, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2011

As the owners of Casa Blanca we truly regret that Ms. Roberta did not enjoy her stay at our bed and breakfast. As one can tell from the other reviews on Trip Advisor, we aim to be at the complete disposition of our clients, ready to ease their stay and render their experience as pleasant as possible. We strive to treat our clients the way we ourselves would like to be treated. During each of our encounters with Ms. Roberta, we asked how her stay was faring and, very politely, she always replied, “very well, thank you.” Even at check-out, while we were waiting for the taxi together, we asked Ms. Roberta again her thoughts on Casa Blanca and everything seemed perfect. Nothing indicated any sort of disappointment that she may have felt. It is unfortunate that we did not know from the beginning about Ms. Roberta’s auditory sensitivity or simply the disappointment that was manifesting inside of her on the account of the passing nights without sleep. If only Ms. Roberta had told us that behind the “lovely” room and “friendly and helpful” owners there was hidden a terrible experience, we would have, at the very least, provided the room at no charge since evidently, according to Ms. Roberta’s remarks following her stay, we were not capable of offering the service for which she was paying. What can we say other than please excuse us. We will take into consideration Ms. Roberta’s advice, as we regularly do with the suggestions of all of our clients, and put it into good use for the future. Surely a clear communication at the beginning would have improved her stay since we could have offered Ms. Roberta a change of room, given that we have several other room options. Obviously it seems useless to invite Ms. Roberta again to our bed and breakfast free of charge after the explicit title given to her review, but in any case we would be pleased if she accepted our invitation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After a week spent in Sicily, we arrived in Reggio di Calabria on 10 September 2011 to visit some distant cousins and undertake some genealogy research. My wife and I and father-in-law spent three days at the Casa Blanca Bed & Breakfast on Via Orcovito 24, renting two charming rooms at this gem of a place located a five to ten minute walk from the central train station. It is strategically situated not far from the cathedral, the pedestrian promenade, and the seafront. The service provided by the youthful high-energy owners was outstanding. Sergio and Luca are extremely customer-oriented individuals who went out of their way to be accommodating and make our stay extremely satisfying. All our questions and requests were addressed in the most courteous and friendly manner. They definitely pay great attention to their guests’ needs- very charming and hospitable hosts. The overall look of Casa Blanca is fresh and impeccably clean and everything is well managed. This Bed &Breakfast is a great value for money. The rooms are very spacious and elegantly decorated in a white “Shabby Chic” style. Overall it was a great place, clean, spacious, central, and quiet. Bravo to the owners in providing such an attractive choice to visitors to Reggio. We would most certainly recommend Casa Blanca. Thank you to the owners and staff for being such great hosts and making our stay at Casa Blanca so pleasurable.

Louis & Elaine

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

After a week spent in Sicily, we arrived in Reggio di Calabria on 10 September 2011 to visit some distant cousins and undertake some genealogy research. My wife and I and father-in-law spent three days at the Casa Blanca Bed & Breakfast on Via Orcovito 24, renting two charming rooms at this gem of a place located a five to ten minute walk from the central train station. It is strategically situated not far from the cathedral, the pedestrian promenade, and the seafront. The service provided by the youthful high-energy owners was outstanding. Sergio and Luca are extremely customer-oriented individuals who went out of their way to be accommodating and make our stay extremely satisfying. All our questions and requests were addressed in the most courteous and friendly manner. They definitely pay great attention to their guests’ needs- very charming and hospitable hosts. The overall look of Casa Blanca is fresh and impeccably clean and everything is well managed. This Bed & Breakfast is a great value for money.The rooms are very spacious and elegantly decorated in a white “Shabby Chic” style. Overall it was a great place, clean, spacious, central, and quiet. Bravo to the owners in providing such an attractive choice to visitors to Reggio. We would most certainly recommend Casa Blanca. Thank you to the owners and staff for being such great hosts and making our stay at Casa Blanca so pleasurable.

Louis & Elaine

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Our stay at Casa Blanca was fabulous. The rooms are beautiful and clean. Casa Blana is a B&B, but like an intimate boutique hotel. Sergio is so wonderful. When we arrived, he sat with us and explained the area and how to get around. He helped us with restaurant recommendations, taxi reservations and ferry schedules. We stayed for three nights the end of August. On Saturday, we went to the train station to buy our tickets for the next day only to be told all the the trains to Naples were booked for the next three days. That never happened to us before! We had hotel reservations in Sorrento and a private Amalfi tour booked. When we went back to Casa Blanca and talked with Sergio. He immediately gave us options and made a phone call to his friend at a car rental. We ended up driving to Sorrento, which was a wonderful experience. Sergio saved our vacation. He knows how to treat his guests and goes the extra mile. If you're visiting Reggio Calabria, stay at Casa Blanca. You will love it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjilbabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reggio Calabria hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#1 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albanuova Hotel
Albanuova Hotel
#3 of 12 in Reggio Calabria
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Pellicano Guest House
B&B Pellicano Guest House
#1 of 145 in Reggio Calabria
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
B&B Medinblu
B&B Medinblu
#2 of 145 in Reggio Calabria
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Casa Lagana
B&B Casa Lagana
#22 of 145 in Reggio Calabria
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Castello Luxury B&B
Al Castello Luxury B&B
#7 of 145 in Reggio Calabria
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Blanca

Address: Via Girolamo Arcovito 24, 89127, Reggio Calabria, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Reggio Calabria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Reggio Calabria
Price Range: $56 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Reggio di Calabria, 200 metres from the cathedral and 500 metres from the Central Train Station, Casa Blanca offers both old-world charm and modern comfort. The structure features a sun terrace and bright, spacious rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. All rooms come with a private minibar, LCD TV, DVD player and a selection of films. The multilingual staff will supply guests with a detailed city map and useful information. A restaurant is conveniently located within the same structure and a parking garage with very reasonable rates is just steps away. The B&B can arrange for taxi service at a discounted rate for its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your B&B Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Casa Blanca Reggio Calabria/Reggio Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing