We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al Castello Luxury B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al Castello Luxury B&B
Ranked #10 of 136 Reggio Calabria B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed at Al Castello a few days ago and were bowled over with the friendliness of the owners. Everything in the hotel was immaculate, classy and comfortable. The bed was wonderful and the bathroom luxurious with a very good shower. The breakfast just kept coming and it was all delicious. We strolled down to the main shopping street and back along the elegant waterfront and all within easy distance from the hotel. We were assured the area was completely safe at night and happily strolled to a local restaurant recommended by our hosts. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carefulopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
29
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were so impressed with both our host and our accommodation here! Breakfast was home made and beautiful every morning - especially the jams! Paulino was friendly, helpful and went out of his way to ensure our stay was as wonderful as possible. The room was modern, clean and extremely comfortable. Would definitely be happy to stay again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Spotlessly clean, modern in style, with a breakfast that featured delicious local products. It’s positioned two blocks above the old castle, which counts as central – not that that matters much, since everything that survived the 1908 earthquake is located in museums that seem indefinitely closed. (When I was there, one had a large banner advertising an interesting-looking exhibition that had ended several months before. Another was shrouded in scaffolding. A third had a hand-written sign on the door saying the space was “closed for maintenance,” with no indication of when that maintenance might be completed. The Riaci bronzes were “on view” in their restoration lab – distanced from you by a wall of glass, face down on tables.) Count on a 15-minute walk to the station, if you have luggage. Taxis are not always in evidence.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GRosso76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

excellent accomodation in Italian good taste and design rooms
Paolo and Jo are perfect hosts and the prima collazione is incredibly rich and delicious
they also give good advice and are very helpful in looking information for daytrips, restaurants and things to do in town. I had a great week there and can recommend this place AB SO LUTELY
grazie mille for your hospitality: perfetto! greeetings from Belgio

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christopheletzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had a nightmare journey down to this part of Italy when the first train that we were due to get was late which meant that we missed every single connection to Reggio di Calabria (where this hotel is based) meaning that instead of arriving at 8pm as we should have, we arrived at 11pm at night. We called the hotel to come and get us and they did but then promptly charged us 12 euros - we thought that this was supposed to be part of the service! The hotel is on the first floor of the building. The room we stayed in was fabulous - all mod cons and a beautiful painted ceiling. The only thing was there was no English language stations on the TV but we were in Italy after all! The hotel itself is fine, however, because the owner seemed to want to practice his english with us, when we were having our breakfast he spent the entire time watching us and bombarding us with information. It was OK in the beginning because he was just getting everything ready (the table was groaning with the amount of food he put on it!) for us to eat but once the food was on the table he insisted on standing to watch us eat all the food he'd put on the table; he also claimed that it was "all natural" food despite the fact that we were opening packet after packet!! That made us laugh. He claimed that his mother made all the jams, and even the chocolate spread but later on in the day we saw the same jars in the shops available for sale! The surrounding area (or should I say the whole of Reggio di Calabria) was disgusting and we were really disappointed at how dirty and filthy the area was. It wasn't that our hotel was in a particularly bad area, it was just that all of the Calabria part that we were in was really disgusting and we eventually cut our time there short and went onto the next part of our holiday in Rome. Although I'd recommend the hotel, due to the area I wouldn't recommend it. There are only 4 rooms in this hotel and the owner is nowhere to be found during the day. If you want anything you have to call him though he will generally come over to deal with any issues.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the painted ceiling because not all rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Me and my girlfriend decide to visit Reggio Calabria to see the "Bronzi di Riace" and this B&B was my personal choice due to its good feedback I found on internet. The B&B is really nice, near the city centre and the staff is nice and helpful. The room was really clean and quiet. No noise from other rooms. I can definitely suggest it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank x5marano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at Al Castello. The hosts were kind and helpful and the breakfasts were very tasty. The accommodation itself was modern and stylish, extremely clean and spacious. All in all it was a lovely experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reggio Calabria hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#1 of 13 in Reggio Calabria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.9 mi away
E' Hotel
E' Hotel
#5 of 13 in Reggio Calabria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Excelsior
#2 of 13 in Reggio Calabria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Pellicano Guest House
B&B Pellicano Guest House
#1 of 136 in Reggio Calabria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
TownHouse Cavour
TownHouse Cavour
#3 of 136 in Reggio Calabria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medinblu
Medinblu
#2 of 136 in Reggio Calabria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Castello Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Castello Luxury B&B

Property: Al Castello Luxury B&B
Address: Via Gregorio Palestino 13, 89128, Reggio Calabria, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Reggio Calabria > Reggio Calabria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Reggio Calabria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Castello Luxury B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic center of Reggio Calabria was born "At Castle Luxury Bed & Breakfast", a short walk from the Aragonese Castle, the Court, the Corso Garibaldi and 2 minutes walk from the Promenade Falcomatà, the Teatro Comunale, the National Museum, the Central Station, the University for Foreigners Dante and 3 minutes from the Airport of the Strait.It 'a completely new and comfortable, which is located on the first floor of a building recently renovated in the early '900. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Al Castello Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Castello Luxury B&B Reggio Calabria/Reggio Calabria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing