We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Modern, Affordable--and Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cosenza
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, Modern, Affordable--and Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Royal Hotel just after Christmas, and while it does lack a certain charm--a business class hotel, really--Cosenza isn't a touristic city, and we were pleased with the cleanliness, comfort level, decent breakfast, price, and the great location, in the new town, just off Corso Mazzini, but an easy 10 minute walk to the old Medieval city. While the lobby was a bit sterile and even chilly, service was good, especially Rosario, who seemed to work all day and night and was very attentive and kind.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    87
    44
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
47
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just come back from our second holiday trip to Cosenza and stayed at the Royal both times. There don't seem to be many options around the centre and this is probably the best if you are touring. This is a decent hotel, really it's designed and geared for business travel and it's not quite up to speed. Breakfast is ok, not as varied as other equivalent class hotels but adequate. The rooms are fine, if lacking any character, but the facilities are good. Staff are friendly and helpful but I didn't get much sense of English being widely spoken. It's well situated both for the modern town main street and the Centro Storico and has its own parking. It's a long way from the main railway station should you be traveling this way, we were, take the number 27 bus from outside and keep your eyes peeled for a hotel sign after you pass through a square with odd sculptures. Good and convenient for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel is near the city center - just a few blocks away. We enjoyed being able to walk a few blocks and have a nice dinner. The hotel is very clean and rooms are spacious. The staff was very helpful. There was a very nice breakfast as well. My family felt the same way about out hotel stay. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
307 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel didn't disappoint us at all. They are located near the city center in a totally remodeled building with fresh new rooms. They have free private parking, which was great. The staff was very lovely and helpful (although they didn't seem to speak English - you hardly find people who speak English in Calabria) and breakfast was delicious. We went to Cosenza to discover our family origins. It is not touristic city, but we were delighted with it: clean, calm, safe, beautiful and cheap. A must see in Calabria!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tata_Paulista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel is located just around the corner from the main street, which is great for shopping, or stopping for a coffee or pizza, It was a safe and nice place to walk at night. The hotel has been renovated and is clean and the staff are friendly with great english language skills

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Parking in Cosenza was a nightmare, so the underground secure lot was a relief. It can be tight in there, but we managed.
Took the Junior Suite, it was smallish for a suite but clean and had a good bed. It was nice not to have our luggage under foot.
Less than 5 minutes away from the main shopping street, cafe bars closer than that. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toolsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
282 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We stayed 1 night. I rated excellent as for no negatives and very good value for the money, probably this comes from the fact that it's not very touristic town.

NEUTRAL - Breakfast was average.
POSITIVE - Clean. Quiet. We got Junior-Suite instead of double room. Free parking in closed , secure area.

Not far is the best pizza place in the world, seriously.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosenza
0.9 mi away
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
#1 of 12 in Cosenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.7 mi away
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Cosenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 12 in Cosenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Vescovo Rosso
Vescovo Rosso
#3 of 12 in Cosenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home Club Suite Hotel
Home Club Suite Hotel
#5 of 12 in Cosenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#6 of 9 in Rende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Via delle Medaglie d'Oro, 87100 Cosenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Cosenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cosenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing