We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, comfortable and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Via dell'Astrologo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Via dell'Astrologo
Ranked #2 of 17 Cosenza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights here. It is run by two brothers who do not live in the flat. There are two suites each with private bath The breakfast they provide is lovely. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and the location, in old town was very central. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
42
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

B&B Via dell'Astrologo is a perfect gem hidden in a maze of medieval confusion that is the center of Cosenza. Without our Garmin GPS device we would never have found it. Even after we found it we couldn't find the addresses without walking up and down the street and asking for help. That said, I loved it. Marco is very kind and helpful. He told us where we could park our car for free and showed us everything on a map which he gave us. The room is quite large and very comfortable with a cozy window seat and a nice large shower. We had an early train when we left so Marco left our breakfast in our room so we wouldn't starve. That was very nice of him. The location is perfect for touring Cosenza on foot though every direction is a steep climb up or down and it is very easy to get turned around. The distances, however, are short. I am a travel agent and would recommend this B&B to my clients who are in good shape. Cheers to Marco and Mario for such a beautiful B&B. The photos don't do it justice. Try to get one of the front door too! Thanks!

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms and I didn't see the other one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherinemalson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I chose a B&B at the end of our 3 week Italy trip as a restful hotel alternative in the heart of Cosenza, since we had been in about 7 hotels throughout Italy before that. We were very happy with the personlaized and courteous service of the owners, including the cleanliness and brekfast service each morning. Mario, one of the owners can be relied on for detailed assistance as to ameneties in the area, directions and most other things a traveller needs. Highly recommended if staying in Cosenza.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Omar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at this BB for one night in November, we just loved it! The decoration was great, the location unique, in the heart of the city with easy free nearby parking. Owner was of great help suggesting great places for dinner and visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mitsubish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The B+B is located in the heart of Old Cosenza (not to be confused with the more lively but less historically interesting new Cosenza). The owners were incredibly helpful with itineraries and general advice. The restructured palazzo is very tasteful and everything is impeccably clean. This place is to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GiuseppeNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Ideally situated to discover the historical part of the city there is no bad point to mention concerning this great B&B. The service is good, always helpful and respectful. The room and the bathroom are both impeccable. In particular the room is very nice and giving a cosy mood to the stay, not forgetting to mention the very comfortable bed allowing a good rest between two days of visiting.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Remy-Platipus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Marco runs a great little B&B right in the heart of the old town of Cosenza, very close to the Duomo and Teatro Rendano, Roman ruins and restaurants. There are two rooms in the B&B, Federiciana with one double bed and Telesiana with two single beds. The rooms and common area are decorated carefully and thoughtfully. We enjoyed all of the space we had in the Federiciana room. I actually went into the other room as well, and it was also quite spacious and just as nice as the other. It was a treat to have a really good shower with good pressure and heat that were easy to adjust. Free wifi in the room worked very well. The only downside to the room is that there was not air conditioning, although there was an oscillating fan on the desk.

Even though we’ve been to Cosenza before, our GPS gave us some trouble once we actually got into the old town and were trying to get to the B&B. We called Marco and he came to meet us and let us in. He advised us of the free parking at Piazza Luigi Cribari, which is very close. There are a few steps up to the B&B and he helped us with our suitcases, both when we got there and left. Breakfast each morning consists of a variety of pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea and a couple of sweets. Marco’s office is just off of the breakfast room, and he would go between doing work in there and chatting with us each morning. It was nice to chat with him every day about Cosenza and Calabria, especially as my family is originally from the area. He is also knowledgeable about things you may want to do beyond Cosenza, as we had a couple of day trips planned and he offered his insights. He also had a mini-fridge in the common area where breakfast is held with some drinks available to purchase. Another touch that I really appreciated was that he had some postcards for sale as well, which is really helpful for someone like me who sends them a lot, especially in a place like Cosenza where they can be hard to find.

Staying at B&B Via dell'Astrologo was more like staying at someone’s house than at a B&B, which we enjoyed. For the first couple of nights we were the only ones there and it was nice to have some quiet and privacy in the middle of a month long Europe trip. Be advised that they only accept cash.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank MissWanderlustCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cosenza hotels
2.0 mi away
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
Italiana Hotels Cosenza
#1 of 12 in Cosenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vescovo Rosso
Vescovo Rosso
#3 of 12 in Cosenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Paparelle
B&B Paparelle
#1 of 17 in Cosenza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
B&B Margherita
B&B Margherita
#3 of 17 in Cosenza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Bruno
B&B Bruno
#15 of 17 in Cosenza
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Cosenza
B&B Cosenza
#6 of 17 in Cosenza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Via dell'Astrologo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Via dell'Astrologo

Property: B&B Via dell'Astrologo
Address: Via Rutilio Benincasa 16, 87100 Cosenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Cosenza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Cosenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Bed and Breakfast is a first class guest accommodation located in the heart of the city of Cosenza, in the old quarter of Cafarone, located near the district of Santo Spirito with characteristic and charming lanes and historic buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your B&B Via dell'Astrologo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing