We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had booked for longer.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Foresteria di San Leo
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Potenza
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wish we had booked for longer.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Like the previous reviewer I have nothing but praise for this gem of a place.
This was a one night stop over between Naples and Puglia for us and we would have stayed far longer if we had known what a delightful place it was. We were made to feel welcome and like honoured guests from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.

The home made food is exceptionally good and I believe if you are staying for longer you can have 'tutored' sessions on how to make pasta, pastries etc ( 'cookery courses' always sound so formal: this sounded like a much less daunting 'come and have some fun and join in with me if you want to'). We had delicious meals at dinner and at breakfast and were welcomed with coffee and pastries on arrival.

The surrounding area is beautiful and would delight walkers of any standard.
The 10k journey up from the main road is winding and you may think you are never going to arrive. It is well signed until the final k . Do print off the directions off the website before you go.

We will definitely return, stay for longer, take our walking boots and our cooking aprons next time. It's one of those places you'd like to keep secret but ought not to!

Room Tip: If you want privacy and to catch the afternoon sun ask for the side room facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireBrightStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
47
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I cannot recommend La Foresteria enough. We spent two nights and met a couple who were staying for 2 weeks. I could easily see staying that length of time. There is a lot of countryside to explore, hikes, small towns, etc. If you are looking for relaxation this is an idea location - the birds never stop singing during the day and the crickets during the night. I would go again just to watch the fireflies dancing around in the dark. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly, helpful and accommodating proprietors. The rooms were spacious and immaculate. If you can't find your pajamas it is because they have been folding and placed under your pillow. No extra is overlooked. The location is gorgeous - the monastery has been lovingly renovated and the views are pastoral. The food is delicious. Breakfast is tasty and plentiful and the dinners are individually prepared and beautifully presented. I definitely recommend joining the propreitors for dinner. If you stay a few days you can participate in a cooking class, which looked like an absolute blast!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank designrgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Greta spot that I wish I had more time to enjoy and explore. Nice large rooms/apartments. Great cooking. And awesome views.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohncpSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were welcomed with freshly brewed coffee - our room (the double room of a family unit) was spacious, clean and airy with a covered verandah overlooking a very inviting pool and furthur overlooking a beautiful deep river valley. The setting was very peaceful and welcoming. We sat on the verandah and caught up on our corresondence. In the beautiful vaulted dining room that night we enjoyed a delicious four course meal with a bottle of local wine recommended by Peppino our host (the cost of the meal was embarrasingly inexpensive). After a restful night, we enjoyed a generous and delicious breakfast. San Leo required some determination (on our part) to locate and get to, but was more than worth the effort and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank around2it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We spent four nights here and it is wonderful. Mine hosts are friendly the views are stunning and the food Typical Italian you can even cook some yourself .

The pools a bit chilly but its always sunny

There are numerous places of interest close by but the best thing is the hospitality its 6star

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinJamesDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Puglia. Peppino welcomed us with a drink and some homemade cake. We were later arriving than we anticipated due to roadworks but this was not a problem, everyone was so friendly.. Our room was immaculate with a view over the hills and the silence was amazing. Our evening meal was a joy, we had antipasto (which we didn't know we were getting), followed by pasta then meat and salad and finally cake, accompanied by a bottle (or two!) of the house red - delicious! After a great night's sleep in a really comfortable bed we had a great breakfast and a proper cappucino. Our only regret was that we didn't arrive early enough to enjoy the property, especially the pool, and only stayed for one night. For a friendly welcome, beautiful surroundings and great food - stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

La Foresteria sits in the hills overlooking the Basento River Valley and the Dolomiti Lucane only 20 minutes south of Potenza. Being just minutes from the E847 you have good access to the Ionian Coast, Matera, Melfi and all that Basilicata has to offer. Just relaxing or taking walks in the hills is also an option.

The rooms are well laid out and can accommodate couples or families, some have kitchenettes. The couple who own La Foresteria are always available to help plan your day's activities and provide wonderful dinners in the the charmingly restored building.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrunoAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potenza
9.6 mi away
Albergo La Primula
Albergo La Primula
#1 of 10 in Potenza
371 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grande Albergo Potenza
Grande Albergo Potenza
#3 of 10 in Potenza
226 reviews
8.6 mi away
Giubileo Hotel
Giubileo Hotel
#4 of 10 in Potenza
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Albergo La Locanda di Castromediano
11.0 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#8 of 10 in Potenza
76 reviews
10.0 mi away
Park Hotel Centro Congressi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Foresteria di San Leo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Foresteria di San Leo

Property: La Foresteria di San Leo
Address: Contrada San Leo 11, 85018, Potenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Potenza
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Potenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Welcome to La Foresteria di San Leo”“La foresteria di San Leo” is a Lucanian stone farmhouse which was build from the restoration of a benedectine hermitage where are preserved the San Leone monastery’s remains dated back to the twelfth century. We would like to show you one of the best places of Basilicata where our family live and work from generation to generation…….Completely immerse into the green the Guestroom faces the Lucanian Dolomites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Foresteria di San Leo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing