We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Albergo La Primula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo La Primula
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Potenza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Our recent visit to a small town in Basilicata necessitated lodging for one night's stay, and we chose La Primula. As we entered from the large parking area, a bit weary from the road, we took notice of the lovely outdoor patios and pool area. Within minutes of our friendly check- in service, my husband was relaxing poolside with a book. Our room was average, and comfortable. The bathroom was more than adequate, with shower, bidet, and nice linens. We had chosen LaPrimula for convenience: It was not only along our route, but also had a decent restaurant, so we did not have to deal with additional driving in the evening. We enjoyed a very good meal in the dining room. As we were seated, we were presented with a complimentary aperitif of Prosecco, and a small bite of mozzarella cubes nestled in a crisp of pancetta and marinated in oil. Options for dining included specialties typical of the locale, and were very very good, as was the wine selection. Breakfast buffet was included also. We were very happy with our choice of LaPrimula for our brief stop along the road, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a nice view- that was the only thing our room was lacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOGA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 395 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at La Primula for one great night during a vacation in southern Italy! We spent the evening with friends and at 12:00 midnight, decided not to drive back to our "home base", over an hour away. We called La Primula and asked if they could accommodate us, despite the late arrival. Not only did they say "yes", but two hotel staff members were waiting at the front entrance to welcome us! They could not have been nicer! Our suite was lovely - a living room, bedroom and large luxurious bathroom. The breakfast buffet was delicious, with many choices! The grounds of the hotel, including a beautiful pool, were fantastic! We only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy it! We will definitely be back on a future visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our family had a wonderful 2 night stay at Hotel La Primula. It was spotless, buffet breakfast including eggs and bacon was wonderful. It is across from a great little supermarket, 2 min. walk to breathtaking harbor,shops, marina and restaurants. Perfect oasis with pool and gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieannBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I have stayed in the Primula Hotel on 4 seperate times,mainly on business trips....and this hotel never dissapoints.

The rooms are fantastic, the service is excellent. The staff all speak english- which is a bonus, given my woeful italian!

Overall, a great hotel, with great staff- you will not be disappointed, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DucatiBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

After a poor night the night before, and an unpleasant drive on mountain roads to reach Potenza in the dark, we were full of trepidation about how to find the Primula and indeed what we'd find when we did so. No worries. Although the hotel is in an unprepossessing suburb where every street seems to be called the Contrada Bucaletto, fact is there's a hotel sign on every corner and five minutes after leaving the motorway we were in. The hotel is bigger and nicer than you'd think from web pictures, with a pleasant garden and pool. After a friendly welcome we were shown to out "double room" which comprised two bedrooms, a lounge and a good bathroom. Plenty of space everywhere and the odd English channel on the TV - a rarity. Dinner was enjoyable and good value we thought, though after ten days, eating in empty restaurants was beginning to lose its charm. So all-in all a successful stay, and our drive through Potenza the following morning confirmed that we may well have done the right thing by eating in- its a busy place with not a great deal to see or so it seemed. If in the area we'd stay here again. The few members of staff we saw were invariably pleasant and effiicent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed this peaceful oasis from industrial Potenza, it is such a beautiful mini resort, the rooms are very large and comfortable, decorated as if you were staying in someone's home, except for Thailand or Bali, it was the only hotel in Italy that immaculately folded and put our nightwear on our pillows, we felt like our Nonna had been in and cleaned our room, it was such a sweet touch. We felt like family staying with these lovely helpful people, now the absolutely best part, the hotel is away from Potenza itself, so we ate at the hotel restaurant, we are in love with the chef, he takes your order himself personally, and although he doesn't speak english, his passion for his food needs no translation, the food was just wonderful, and the local wines suggested were very good. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have nothing but compliments for Hotel La Primula, a family owned hotel which is a five minute drive from the Potenza town center. The rooms are large, clean, quiet, and well appointed. Parking is plentiful. Antonio upgraded us to a suite at no additional charge. We were welcomed and treated like family. The bed was one of the most comfortable we experienced in our two week trip to Italy. The smell of freshly squeezed orange juice lured us into the dining room for a lovely breakfast. The chef shines--the quality of the meals and their presentation rival that of five star restaurants. We were there to visit the town where our family originated before they emigrated to America and to try to locate relatives. Antonio helped us locate and hire Rocco, a fluent English speaker, to serve as our interpreter and guide. Our visit to Potenza and Palazzo San Gervasio became one of the most memorable trips of our lifetime because Antonio and Rocco took the time to care and to help. Grazie mille.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Potenza
4.2 mi away
Giubileo Hotel
Giubileo Hotel
#5 of 10 in Potenza
344 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grande Albergo Potenza
Grande Albergo Potenza
#2 of 10 in Potenza
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Centro Congressi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
La Foresteria di San Leo
11.0 mi away
Hotel Bouganville
Hotel Bouganville
#1 of 1 in Picerno
252 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grotta dell'Eremita
Grotta dell'Eremita
#1 of 2 in Castelmezzano
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo La Primula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo La Primula

Address: Via delle Primule, 84, 85100, Potenza, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Potenza > Potenza
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Potenza
Price Range: $118 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo La Primula 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo La Primula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing