We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neither Italian nor International”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Neither Italian nor International”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Second stop on our guided tour of Puglia. Not as good as its sister? in Lecce. Italian disorganisation without the charm. Food poor and right out of the town in a commercial area. Would not go there from choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    387
    216
    96
    37
See reviews for
144
524
20
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hayesville, nc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to find this gem just outside of Matera, Italy. Exquisite grounds and a wonderful hotel greet the vistor. A very friendly and helpful staff contribute to the overall ambiance. Conference center, ballroom and restaurant are all included with a business center and laundry room if needed. Wonderful indoor and outdoor pools and spa with fitness center.
Great value for the money. Wonderfully clean and spotless.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlHayesville_Nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rooms were great. Only problem is you have two remote to have your TV working.AC was working perfectly. First night our dinner was included . Food was serve hot. Was OK. Second night we have dinner for 25.00 euro each with 2 main courses of spaghetti and pork. Pork was juicy and delicious. It includes also wine, fruits or gelato .
Breakfast was included no complain. Staff were helpful everywhere.
Downside is hotel is far from downtowm Its in the middle of nowhere. Scary just to walk around outside of the hotel premises. Overall we have a nice stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCT0356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
252 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is any possible Hilton standard. It starts with rooms which are threadbare carpets, and long overdue for a paint job and an update. As a Diamond member of Hilton, they still wanted me to pay for breakfast which took three people at the desk to understand, it was free.
Then came the restaurant service was rude, when it occurred. The food was almost inconsumable. I asked several times for a check, after 30 minutes I got up and left. Suddenly everyone in the restaurant and at the desk was concerned because I had not paid before starting out of the restaurant.
On leaving, I asked for the manager who strangely was not there. The staff does not care and did not want to provide service.

The best thing Hilton could do is to sell that place at 10 cents on the dollar.

Having said that, the old town (sassi) was very interesting and worth the visit/

Room Tip: Only stay if you must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bubba65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was the second hotel on our trip with a party of 50. It's in the middle of nowhere. It looks at first glance like a beautiful hotel, but the service and food let it down badly. The breakfast was average, we were surprised that an Italian hotel couldn't make fresh coffee for breakfast and we had to use machines. The evening meal was very poor and nearly inedible. My husband was served a meat kebab which was cold and grey. We were served in a conference room with no atmosphere. On both nights we stayed here we had to search for someone to make us a drink at the bar before dinner. The rooms were small but very good.

Room Tip: We only saw our room. There was no balcony and the view was poor. It looked like it had been built i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAUREEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a modern hotel in large grounds in the middle of nowhere 20 minutes drive from Matera. On arrival in a large group check in was quick and efficient. We were given a smoking room but this was changed without fuss. There is a lovely leisure complex with large inside pool. We were on half board but the evening meal was very disappointing with a very small portion of almost raw fish. The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in kingswood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

On a tour of Puglia in a group of 50 - this was our second Hilton. Fantastic setting, a great place to rest and for me, great value. Unique selling point is the setting and landscaping of this hotel - truly lovely - I would have loved to stay for much longer and chill. It is a long way from Matera so definitely a place to rest. Pool and services around it are delightful. Actually had changing cabins and showers which is great - staff in spa helpful and polite. Restaurant staff struggled a bit with 2 tour parties but not to detriment of service. Have already recommended this to family touring this region soon and to friends for next year.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kuonikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
4.0 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
4.0 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
2.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
4.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
4.0 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Matera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Matera

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Matera
Address: Via Germania | Borgo Venusio, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Matera
#13 Business Hotel in Matera
#17 Family Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Matera 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Matera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Matera Hotel Matera
Hilton Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing