We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Italy”
Review of Caveoso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caveoso Hotel
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had an incredible view from our room and it was very ample. The hotel is located inside the Sassi itself, staff gave us the best advice on where to go, and where to eat. So, we were able to enjoy true Italy in a gorgeous city that carefully keeps its traditions. It was the best part of our Italy vacation.

Room Tip: There is the possibiliy t of staying in a sassi cave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaroPebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 477 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

Staying in a cave was so unique. The staff were wonderful. Be prepared to take luggage up rock steps, but that is part of the charm. the reason for the 4 instead of 5 were maintenance issues and I'm sure had we been there longer the management would have fixed the leaky shower and broken hair dryer as well as the lock on the fridge we couldn't open. We had a little trouble locating it with our GPS, so ask for a map of the turn into the piazza. They have free wifi and free parking, a plus in Italy. Matera is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a very nice and reasonably priced place to stay if you would like to try the cave dwellings. Good breakfast. Quiet and very comfortable. Convenient to restaurants and local sites. Parking was convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave. Although non-cave rooms may have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clio47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The concierge came with another man to help us carry our luggage up the cobbles and stairs. Once there, our room in the cave was the first that faced us, to the right of the courtyard and entry to the cave hotel. It is vaulted, large enough, and very pleasant, with a white bed cover scattered with little blue flowers that seems to freshen the room.
The great joy for me, however, is a BATH in the pleasant little bathroom at the back of the cave – the only place where there is a bit of exposed rocky wall to be seen. Actually our bedroom is built in front of the cave, and has a window onto the courtyard.
We had 2 nights here. The first night our aircon wasn't set properly but we got this done next morning, and were fine the second night. Breakfasts were entirely adequate if not exceptional.
I wanted an adaptor to translate our French gear to Italian; our host set our satnav to get us to the right shop where we got one for 90 cents.
After a week in Puglia we had not yet paid to park but I got careless and picked up a fine shortly before we left. It had to be paid within 3 days at a special place. Our host kindly took on this chore and sent us the receipt very efficiently. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliannaLees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although some rooms are built into the cave back, ours was not, but had good views. It was spacious and decorated white. It was in a good position for sightseeing. The breakfast was a buffet in a room where the rear tables were in a cave.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's an exotic place and it certainly worth the visit. There is just one problem: first you got to be lucky to park near the hotel. Then you will have to carry on your luggage for about 100m and then up the stairs to your room. The rocky streets and paths can damage the wheels of your suitcase. Unfortunately there's no service for that, I'd be happy to see a cart to carry all the bags.
Once in the room you can enjoy this unique place. Breakfast is served in the rocky cave and it's got the espresso and a good variety of fruits and breads.
The staff was a lot friendly and casual, showed us points in the map and recomended a good restaurant.
Good sleep, good shower, although there wasn't a window in the room, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the summertime because the rock will get hot all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guimas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very different to anything we have stayed in for this trip in Italy but it was great! The room was "cavelike" but with a modern decor. It was very hot outside but the cave was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked extremely well, and, it was so quiet that we all slept soundly. The location was fantastic and we parked the car in front of the church a few meters away. The mini sightseeing train stops in front of the church also and that proved to be a very entertaining 1 hour trip around the sights. In general we found the people of Matera very welcoming, friendly and helpful and really enjoyed our visit here.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Tazi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.0 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sassi
Hotel Sassi
#13 of 30 in Matera
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
1.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.2 mi away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#3 of 30 in Matera
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caveoso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caveoso Hotel

Address: Rione Pianelle 26, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: $83 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caveoso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Caveoso Hotel is situated in a striking palace right in the centre of the Sassi area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caveoso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caveoso Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing