We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”

La Grotta nei Sassi
Ranked #87 of 454 Restaurants in Matera
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Il ristorante La Grotta nei Sassi è sito nel centro storico di Matera, in una cornice magica e suggestiva che ricorda i vecchi ristoranti di Matera, collocato all'interno dei Famosi Sassi di Matera (grotte scavate dall'uomo), patrimonio dell'UNESCO. Il ristorante è composto da due sale con una capienza di circa sessanta ospiti, in grado di offrire un'atmosfera ariosa, moderna ed elegante, perfettamente in linea con la cucina innovativa proposta dallo Chef. Il ristorante dispone di una bellissima terrazza panoramica che si affaccia sul meraviglioso scenario del Sasso Barisano, ed è anche punto d'incontro per molte persone d'affari per organizzare meeting, pranzi o cene di lavoro. La cucina de La Grotta nei Sassi è tradizionale realizzata con ingredienti e di prodotti locali a Km 0, oppure con specialità marinare.
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

A cost restaurant located in sassi with a great overview over the old districts. Outdoor tables, nice waiters, one even speaking English:))). Exquisite food and big portions!!! Not very cheap but a good value for money!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank G2012CLmartab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 84 of 1,946 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

This place was good. I didn't give it 5 of 5 because They didn't have enough staff for the summer crowd they had and it seemed the system they were using just wasn't very efficient. Note that I love and I'm used to long dinners because I live in San Juan Puerto Rico so this isn't a matter of wanting to or being used to a rush dinner.

They had the same person taking orders from all the tables and then taking forever to get to the kitchen. Bottom line is I mostly remember waiting to get someone to finally take our order, waiting for drinks and mostly .. Waiting. And unfortunately I remember very little about the food.

I don't get how a place like this doesn't just hire one more server. Would have made all the difference

Maybe if they had the ability to give 3.5 I would have but since that's not possible they get a 3.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Rosa0463
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

Our hotel recommended this place and it was delicious. Wonderful location, a cave-restaurant in an elegant atmosphere. Too cold to sit outside in April. The staff was very patient and explained everything on the menu for us. They gave us great suggestions on how much and what we should order so that we could split all the dishes amongst us and try everything. Not a bad dish in the house.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 8, 2016

Our hotel recco'd this place to us and we were very happy they did.
it gets busy so you may need to make a res.
The staff were excellent - and working very hard , and professionally. We had sea bass and pot roast and both were very tasty. A nice place to spend the evening , from some of the veranda you can look out over matera , making it even more special. eat here.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ukiwil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

The staff in this restaurant are simply not to be believed. The rudest most switched off bunch led by an offensive hostess and nobody is interested in explaining the limited menu.The food is mediocre, tired and reheated. The tables go uncleared and the staff avoid eye contact. More interested in large tables of American tourists and their tips. To be be avoided, deeply unpleasant experience for such a lovely town.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank 138juditht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta nei Sassi also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La Grotta nei Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.