We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food reasonably good but brusque service”

La Grotta nei Sassi
Ranked #87 of 454 Restaurants in Matera
Price range: $16 - $37
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Il ristorante La Grotta nei Sassi è sito nel centro storico di Matera, in una cornice magica e suggestiva che ricorda i vecchi ristoranti di Matera, collocato all'interno dei Famosi Sassi di Matera (grotte scavate dall'uomo), patrimonio dell'UNESCO. Il ristorante è composto da due sale con una capienza di circa sessanta ospiti, in grado di offrire un'atmosfera ariosa, moderna ed elegante, perfettamente in linea con la cucina innovativa proposta dallo Chef. Il ristorante dispone di una bellissima terrazza panoramica che si affaccia sul meraviglioso scenario del Sasso Barisano, ed è anche punto d'incontro per molte persone d'affari per organizzare meeting, pranzi o cene di lavoro. La cucina de La Grotta nei Sassi è tradizionale realizzata con ingredienti e di prodotti locali a Km 0, oppure con specialità marinare.
Reviewed June 4, 2016

We were there on a Saturday night, busiest of the week, but didn't feel that excused the waiter's attitude and the slapdash service we received. There are much better restaurants in Matera.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 90 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2016

We managed to find a table at this popular restaurant and were not disappointed. We all had fish which was so carefully cooked. The whole meal was delicious and the service was excellent. It is impossible to find fault with this restaurant and sadly we left it until the last night. Do come here it is a great experience in a beautiful setting.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 24, 2016

Had a meal as part of a group on a tour of Puglia. Excellent anti pasti selection and the menu was very good, well cooked and presented. Would have preferred fruit and cheese as a dessert alternative but over all very nice. I would like to visit as an individual as I think it would be excellent. The restaurant atmosphere was lovely and the service charming. The wine list was extensive and well priced.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bertiebeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

In the heart of the Old Town by the old city walls this restaurant is not hard to find. We had a fantastic meal in atmospheric surroundings with a wide range of antipasta and the mail course was excellent. The chef and this restaurant is highly recommended if you are in the area.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Two-Hobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Fomos neste restaurante para jantar. Grata surpresa: comida espetacular, preço justo e atendimento de primeira. Certamente voltaríamos se ficássemos mais tempo em Matera!

We went for dinner. Great surprise! Awesome food, fair price and excelent service! We would certainly go again if we spent more time in Matera!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Vicente F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta nei Sassi also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La Grotta nei Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.