We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slept in a luxurious cave?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Slept in a luxurious cave?”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

We were thrilled with our accommodations in Matera. Yes, it was a cave carved into the side of a hill and front the front of our cave we could see acrtoss the valley to other caves on the other side of the Sassi. Perfect English was spoken here and the owners were knowledgeable about the area, area restaurant and the history of the rregion. What a great place. Probably the most memorable experience. BUT you have to be able to walk up and down stairs in Matera though Locanda has an elevator. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grannynanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    417
    71
    24
    12
See reviews for
216
919
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We chose the location and hotel because of an article in May 2009 "SAVEUR" magazine - never would we have hoped to have been so pleased with our choice. We arrived by bus from the Bari Airport and should have done a bit more homework on the exact location of our hotel. After asking a few questions we were quickly directed - it is a bit of a walk down into the Sassi - be prepared. The local population is helpful, many speak English and a smile will get a great return for the effort. The hotel was all we had hoped for and more. Breakfast is lovely and the Internet service was as good as at home in the USA.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels_with_MandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sete
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2009

From the friendly welcome to the last good-bys this was a charming and delightful experience in a special location and a unique ambiance.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonTravelers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia-USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

A hotel of fastideous charm, immaculate, inspired, exquisite contemporary architectural details married to the ancient original remails of sufa cave dwellers - " Sassi", dwellings dug from outside to within a sufa mountain. Colors of many millenium old stone arches, cream, beige, soot black all of the residue of hundreds of years of living mixed with joyful colors lent to furnishings of the 21 century - pale blue frosted unframed glass doors for the bath and a wonderful large bathtub with a hand and overhead shower.Specially designed lamps made of ceramic glazed in a kind of bleached bone color with holes that seed light sparkles onto magically varried surfaces.The spaces are a spectabular display of subtle texture. pock marks, striations like ancient script. and clear clean colors, ceruleun blue, a chrome green and the beds make one wish to stay in when it rains and read a good book. and for that, there is a lamp placed at the head of the bed. Breakfast "is held" in a kind of double cave with so many assorted fine things to eat the expresso machine was constaintly at work. American coffee ordered as Cafe au lait just wonderful. One might be in the company of a trecker tackling mountain trails and hillside caves with Baroque architectural delails on the face of a abandoned one time home. A family of five, a business man, a lone traveler like me - each person seemed to put on their best duds to enjjoy the morning feast . I was so pleased by the "ombiance'' a diverse group of people, many nations, young old and the inbetween. .The staff is a self styed family each person lending a hand to help with what needs doing. The owner might be at the reception desk or one of the other most efficient, helpful and enthusiastic staff persons. Each of these helpmates makes for a smooth running, friendly, extra special place.and were it possible I would not mention it at all as I would like to keep the lovely Locanda all for myself. Out of the "Sassi" a hundred steps up to a more recent gound level, is a lovely Piazza with a gourmands delight of a shop 0f "Lucanian" and Pulian food stuffs, and for my own personal need great bread, a baker as fine as my old friend Poilane. One excellent trattoria "Il Cantuccio" chef /Carlo Cambi makes fresh past with a sauce of chick peas, hard to imagine so fine a dish made with simply love and fine ingredients and the best olive oil anywhere. The baker is a handsome fellow dressed all in black, his shop is #4 Vitorio Venito in the Piazza.The restaurant I found by my nose paying attention to the smells eminating from a most modest space is no accident it is impossible to believe one might stay the night and depart the following morning as eight days wil be too little for me to fully render this magical place known. I will return some day soon maybe when the chanterelles are peaking out from leafs fallen to ground in October.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Great 2 nights in Matera - the hotel was great, really fab sleeping in the cosy cave (the weather was a bit rainy!).

Staff were great, breakfast was lovely.

The Sassi of Matera is a really unusual and fab place to visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

This hotel is really the ideal place to stay in this wonderful city. It is right in the middle of the old city and has been built into the mountian making the rooms look like warm caves. We took our exteneded family here for New Year's Eve and I think everyone was speechless about the city and the hotel. Wonderful service, a good breakfast, an exellent location and a magical place. You really can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed at the Locanda last week while in town for a wedding. This place is perfect - tremendous value, beautiful and unique rooms, impeccable service from the staff. They accommodated everything needed to make the stay for all easy, relaxing, and fun. Each room is uniquely bulit into a cave making for a great experience. When in Matera, there is no reason to stay anywhere other than the Sassi and in the Locanda.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Property: Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Address: Via Fiorentini 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#9 Family Hotel in Matera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera's Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing