We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Quality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“High Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here in July and thank God the room had a good air conditioner. Room was a good size, clean, and a nice bath room. The spa was awesome, nicer than the photos. The breakfast was super with everything you would ask for. Best of all is the location, a few steps from the main piazza. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Renato7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    410
    69
    23
    11
See reviews for
210
902
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were extremely disappointed to learn that the pool is off limits for children under 18 years old. We chose this hotel because of the pool and location; our kids were really looking forward to swimming in a "cave pool" after a long day of travel. The pool is an extra fee for adults, which is also not clear in the advertisement. Atmosphere is not friendly for families!
A word of advice to families: Matera can be seen in a half day. In our opinion, it's not worth the extra effort and cost to visit this city with children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bethesda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We reserved this hotel because it got a good rating here. My experience was more than expected. We stayed Room #12, which was not in the cave but a free standing by itself. I liked the room because it was clean, dry (other room we saw smelled musty), and to-die-for view. It also had a tiny terrace where we had a dinner (we got takeout foods from a gourmet store). The service was friendly and the location was perfect. The breakfast was nice with a wide rage of choices. I liked the pickup and drop off car service by the garage, since we went there by car and I did not want to drive again in the congested streets after check in. One thing I regretted was that I did not use the nice spa they have in the basement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NobuHarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We were thrilled when arriving at the Locanda Di San Martino as it has a therme spa which we were not aware of - this added to an already amazing hotel and really made out stay. Staff are courteous and welcoming. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenbrook
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I came upon Matera while planning a once in a life time tour of Southern Italy. It held promise of mystery and mystique.
Once I decided that Matera was a place to see, accommodation became an issue. Research revealed a number of options, and I lit upon Locanda Di San Martino.
This is the perfect place to stay. One savors the cave experience, in a room that is fully equipped. Even the complimentary wi-fi is strong. The room is well furnished, and clearly fitted out by someone with an interior design bent.
The breakfast accommodates all tastes (cereal, sweet delights, coffee, toast, savory treats).
The staff are delightfully helpful, a pleasure to consult with, professional without being cold, and are very patient.
The location is perfect, convenient to the main piazza, near many of the most excellent restaurants, in fact, central to all that is important to see.
The Thermae are a real bonus. There is a charge, but it is well worth the multi-faceted experience, at least once (a day!).
It is worth overcoming the difficulty of getting to, and leaving from, Matera, because the time you spend there will entrance and mystify, educate and clarify, and isn't that what travel is all about?

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ex-Canberran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Locanda di San Martino is a perfect location to immerse yourself in the uniqueness of the Sassi of Matera. The floors of the hotel are terraced on a valley with lovely views of the opposite hill of buildings constructed out of and in the local rock. I was particularly charmed by the flocks of swallows that flit and swoop around the valley at dawn and dusk. It's a great base for exploring and getting happily lost in the many nooks and crannies of this fascinating town.
The rooms and public areas at the Locanda are very attractive and the thermae a fun experience. The front desk staff are friendly although the desk is understaffed at busy times and the wait for service long. The breakfast rooms are lovely and there is a large selection of food.
A few issues:
We three adults in our 50s found the beds uncomfortable, the master bed was too soft and the singles were too hard. There is only 1 small elevator so there were times we had to wait a while before there was room to get on. I'm a good sleeper and easily went back to sleep if I was woken by the hourly church bells, but my companions' sleep was disrupted by them.
Despite these issues, the positives for me outweighted and I'd happily return to Locanda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It is almost impossible to describe the fascinating, oddly beautiful, and eerie town of Matera. This hotel has been constructed out of the ancient caves of the Sassi, which, until the 1960s, was the second oldest continuously occupied city in the world. Our room was simple, but lovely, with the best bathroom of our month-long trip. The underground pool is stunning. The breakfast was very generous and offered many choices, including espresso drinks brought to your table. I highly recommend this hotel to those exploring this unique city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisalouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Property: Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Address: Via Fiorentini 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Matera
#9 Family Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera's Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing