We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Immersion in the Matera experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Immersion in the Matera experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Locanda di San Martino is a perfect location to immerse yourself in the uniqueness of the Sassi of Matera. The floors of the hotel are terraced on a valley with lovely views of the opposite hill of buildings constructed out of and in the local rock. I was particularly charmed by the flocks of swallows that flit and swoop around the valley at dawn and dusk. It's a great base for exploring and getting happily lost in the many nooks and crannies of this fascinating town.
The rooms and public areas at the Locanda are very attractive and the thermae a fun experience. The front desk staff are friendly although the desk is understaffed at busy times and the wait for service long. The breakfast rooms are lovely and there is a large selection of food.
A few issues:
We three adults in our 50s found the beds uncomfortable, the master bed was too soft and the singles were too hard. There is only 1 small elevator so there were times we had to wait a while before there was room to get on. I'm a good sleeper and easily went back to sleep if I was woken by the hourly church bells, but my companions' sleep was disrupted by them.
Despite these issues, the positives for me outweighted and I'd happily return to Locanda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    410
    69
    23
    11
See reviews for
210
901
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

It is almost impossible to describe the fascinating, oddly beautiful, and eerie town of Matera. This hotel has been constructed out of the ancient caves of the Sassi, which, until the 1960s, was the second oldest continuously occupied city in the world. Our room was simple, but lovely, with the best bathroom of our month-long trip. The underground pool is stunning. The breakfast was very generous and offered many choices, including espresso drinks brought to your table. I highly recommend this hotel to those exploring this unique city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisalouM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was literally a cave dug into the wall of the Sassi; nicely appointed with a wonderful view of the Sassi, and a shaded veranda outside and church bells echoing through the ravine. Excellent breakfasts. Truly a unique experience - highly recommended, as is a guided tour of the Sassi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchySchwank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Quite simply the most stunning place I have stayed. The staff were lovely, the rooms beautiful, the spa amazing!! Breakfast was delicious, and Matera itself I found magical. Looking forward to another visit

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melaniejanejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

A beautifully presented hotel comprising rooms that are actually caves carved out of the rock face the town is built upon. These caves bear little resemblance to those in which the population of Matera struggled to eke out a very difficult existence as recently as the 1950s; they are very well appointed, very comfortable and made a wonderful stop on our tour across Puglia. Breakfast was copious, good quality and taken in a downstairs cave. We did not have time to visit their spa with underground swimming pool but, judging from the rest of the hotel, it is sure to be good. Valet car parking was available but it was a 2 minute drive, and pleasant 10 minute walk to free car parking in the town. Matera is an intriguing place, quite one of the most beautiful places we visited. All highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewAwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived mid afternoon on Tuesday and left on Thursday morning. Time enough to do this fabulous place justice.
The hotel in the Sassi is very unusual, perfectly clean, reception staff who fortunately spoke English and were v helpful.
Swimming in the pool in the cave system is 10 euros each but you have to do it once.
Breakfast was fine. Our first on our two week tour of the heel. Italians like their sweet stuff at breakfast but there was a cooked egg and chorizos plus cereal and toast. Fruit was delicious.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.
Ooh we did a guided tour with Luigi: 20 euros for two hours. Worth every penny. Very informative and had excellent English.
Also see my review of Soul Kitchen. Great food.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia0763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Unique place to stay, Matera is wonderful.
Hotel is built into the rock and most rooms are caves.
Only stayed 2 nights which is enough to see the Sassi area
Would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers. Parking can be a bit of a problem but you can pull up outside and check in. The staff will show where to park for free.
Now if you don't like steps don't go to Matera as the Sassi is built into a steep sided valley.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin504164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Property: Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Address: Via Fiorentini 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#9 Family Hotel in Matera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera's Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing