We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything about this hotel was simply wonderful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
2 reviews
“Everything about this hotel was simply wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed 1 night in November and everything about this hotel and Matera was simply wonderful. The staff were welcoming and helpful especially when it came to parking the car which for $15 was a bargain! We stayed in room 23, a unique room with an amazing view of the Sassi, was stylishly furnished, comfortable and most of all very clean - by the way fabulous water pressure in the shower! The breakfast was to die for.

We had dinner at Osteria Pico which is only a very short walk from the hotel. This was recommended by the hotel and we can say was one of the best meals we have had in the world and we have been fortunate enough to travel extensively.

Our only regrets were that we only stayed one night and that we didn't bring our bathers (being November we expected it to be cold and wet) as the spa and thermae looked sensational.

We couldn't recommend this hotel enough and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DazandSim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    410
    69
    23
    11
See reviews for
210
901
32
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights (rm 12 best view) and loved it..the staff, especially Angela, was so helpful from taking out bags up to the room, to recommending what to do. The thermal bath and spa was a gift...a wonderful way to end the day..the pool extends thru caves, perfect temp, the steam room and sauna was also great to use. It is in a great location with good restaurants nearby as well as walking distance to Piazza Vitello Veneto..where all the action is. I left my mobile phone in the room and called after reaching our next stop and they immediately sent it FedX/UPS? the same day I called. I can't wait to go back to Matera..and stay here again..After all , Hillary Clinton had stayed there the week before!!!!

Room Tip: Room 12..the best view of the city..accommodates a couple or 2 singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank expatgal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
323 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

One of the big advantages of this hotel over others is that you can drive right to the door with your bags via a route that even and average map-reader can follow. Further if you don't feel like looking around for a parking spot yourself, they have a valet service that will take your car away and return it on demand. Frankly though unless you're here a few days, you won't need it. The best restaurant we found in Matera, the Osteria Pico, is a three minute walk up the same road and the desk will make reservations for you. The locanda consists of a maze of buildings and part buildings linked by paths and stairways. Its probable that you'll have a few steps to your room, and I can't recall anyone offering to help with the bags. Our room was, I'd guess, half cave , half conventional room, fairly sparsely furnished though spacious enough in both room and bathroom. It was towards the top of the hotel so we got great views from the walkway right outside the room. We didn't use the pool/spa, which I think my wife regrets. Breakfast was a better-than-usual usual buffet though there was a hot dish on the second day. The one thing that surprised us a little was that the owner seemed a touch unenthusiastic- perfectly polite and helpful , just not particularly effusive.

All told a good stay and we'd certainly consider staying again. I wish there was the option to give 3.5 stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidHBerkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our room was in the courtyard (#34) up a flight of stairs with no neighbours to bother us and it was so quiet, peaceful and pleasant. We had a good sleep, the room was inviting, spacious and the A/C worked very well for the room size and could be regulated easily. The bathroom was simply gorgeous. I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel but on all levels we were pleasantly surprised and we booked via Booking.com. The location is terrific for visiting the Sassi however parking is difficult as one would expect. You will find free parking up the hill but it is a bit of a walk so be sure to drive to the bottom to unload your luggage. The staff was friendly and when checking in, gave us terrific advice to visit the newly opened underground cistern (Palombaro Lungo). A wonderful breakfast is served in a delightful room off reception and is very plentiful. There was juice, cappuccinos, cereals, yogurt, delicious little donuts, very fresh croissants, fruit tarts and not only the usual sliced meats and cheese but also croissants made with ham and cheese. An excellent choice for accommodation in Matera.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flymeaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is right in the heart of the Sassi District - not easy to find, but charming with great atmosphere. Although there is an elevator, there are still stairs to climb to some of the rooms and the elevator wasn't working on the day we checked out. We travel light, so it wasn't a concern for us, but those with lots of luggage were finding it a challenge. Our room was quiet, comfortable, spacious and clean. The location was perfect to walk around and see all the sights. There are restaurants within easy walking distance. We didn't use the pool, spa area, but heard from other guests that is was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed there on a Rick Steves tour. The best $10 I spent was swimming in the pool in the spa and then relaxing in the relaxation room. If you just go to the hotels web site - and look at their videos, you will drool.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
257 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

You cannot beat the atmosphere of this hotel - set in the "Sassi" of Matera. The spa is great. Having a cup of tea after a hot sauna and a swim made our day. We slept like rocks both nights. The only disturbance to our sleep was the early morning church bells. Life could be worse! The staff was very, very helpful. Excellent dinner recommendations. The breakfast was the best we had. Loved the prosciutto and the cheeses, but also loved those amazing cakes from the local bakery. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Matera
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae

Property: Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae
Address: Via Fiorentini 71 | Rioni Sassi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Matera
#9 Family Hotel in Matera
#9 Romantic Hotel in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Locanda di San Martino lies in the heart of Matera's Sassi Historical District, and at the same time it is conveniently located at a very short distance (100 meters) from the city center. The Locanda radiates outward from the deconsecrated church of San Martino and the street of the same name, through a series of balconies that enjoy a sunny exposure and a wonderful view of the Sasso Barisano. There are twenty-two guest rooms situated on four levels, renovated with the greatest care in order to respect their original forms as single homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Locanda di San Martino - Hotel e Thermae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda San Martino Matera
Hotel Locanda San Martino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing