We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fun & Informative in Matera

My husband and I booked a 2 hour tour with Teresa on very short notice. She was kind enough to... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
fayeCalgary
,
Calgary, Canada
Matera tour of Sassi

Teresa was a great guide. She was interesting and very knowledgeable about the Sassi. Her personal... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2016
BGBarker
via mobile
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveler rating
5
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a 2 hour tour with Teresa on very short notice. She was kind enough to accept & made every effort to fit into our tight timeline. She obviously loves the city & is very knowledgeable with the facts & adds some personal elements as well. We wished we could have spent more time with her & the city of Matera. Would recommend Teresa for the tour

Thank fayeCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

Four English speakers were taken on a two hour tour of Matera by Cosimo. He was a wonderful guide and had perfect English. His knowledge about his town was fantastic. His grandparents had lived in the Sassi so he had a great feeling for the hard but close communal lives were lived in this difficult landscape until the 1950s. He brought the town to life for us. I would definitely recommend doing this tour

Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016 via mobile

Teresa was a great guide. She was interesting and very knowledgeable about the Sassi. Her personal stories made the place come alive.

Thank BGBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Teresa was fantastic; great communication, on time, she knew every nook and cranny in Matera, was patient and friendly, spoke excellent English, and took us to all the best spots. I could not imagine a better experience with a guide and highly recommend her.

Thank JasonInNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked an entire day private visit to Matera and the rock churches with Maria Teresa and it was worth every penny. Maria Teresa is a young, very friendly and native guide. Her English is great and she provided with in-depth knowledge and information based on first-hand experience of her grandparents. The visit was split in two sessions: in the morning we visited the "sassi" and the town and in the afternoon we visited the rock churches from where we enjoyed the view on the city and the layers of history. Maria Teresa also showed us a documentary on the city and of its residents that was eye-opening. We had a full experience and strongly recommend her - her passion, drive, sincerity and love for Matera will make you experience unique.

2  Thank TasteLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

When we booked a night at a famous cave hotel, the package included a guided night walk through Matera.

Exactly at the agreed time (!), Maria Teresa appeared at the reception. A warm and welcoming personality, we felt immediately at ease and comfortable asking all our questions about this wonderful city. We were very impressed with her command of the English language -- our Italian is virtually non-existent.

Although we had been visiting the town already once before, and had already spent the afternoon wandering through the sassi and the outskirts along the ravina, our outing with Maria Teresa gave us an insight that we would not have achieved in any other way.

As you expect from a guide, she has all the knowledge of history and art that is needed to put things into context. But really unique are the stories and anecdotes she can share because she is a local and has a whole family history she can use as a resource. In this way, we felt we could catch a glimpse not only of the historical facts (and fascinating little details!), but also of the everyday life of people and communities throughout the long history of Matera, and how this fascinating past still shapes the present of those who live there.

And oh, she is also informed about the local cuisine, and how it is rooted in this very specific "terroir". And by the way, she can also tell you about contemporary art. And she will give you whatever other information you need to make the most of your stay.

No better proof of the passion she has for her city than the visible emotion with which she led us into the Duomo, open for the first time after 7 years of restoration. We felt privileged to share this moment with her.

3  Thank Ness S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews