We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
386
20
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
20
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit and water pastries temporary home remarkable history breakfast room beautiful cave hotel remarkable experience place to stay breakfast was delicious his wife local delicacies this wonderful place rain shower cave dwellings special hotel guided tour separate room
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 412 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great hotel in Matera. The rooms are very nice and large. Temperature was comfortable despite being a little chilly at night outside. The bed was comfortable. The bath was very large, but the hot water could not keep up to fill it. The shower head was rain shower and they even had a hand held head too. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The owners even ran things at night and were extremely friendly! They made several good recommendations for lunch/dinner and pointed out things to see and do in the area. They even gave us a tour of the cisterns beneath the hotel! Great place to stay while here!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We are traveling now for more than 4 weeks through Southern Italy and experienced many B&Bs during our trip. We honestly feel that this one was overpriced. We stayed in the double room, by far the smallest in this B&B but even at a slight discount the most expensive during our vacation. We were offered an upgrade for an additional 25% more (a bargain compared to official rates) which we did not accept, so the larger rooms remained empty during our stay. The offer was in sharp contrast to other B&Bs, were we had a free choice of rooms if they were not occupied. The double room was so small that there was no space for any kind of luggage. There were no closets or any other alternatives. Fine if you only travel for a weekend, we stayed for 4 nights...The bathroom (and toilet) had no door, the only window could not be opened. Fresh air was basically not available. Otherwise, the bed was very comfortable and the furniture very tasteful. We also received fresh fruit and water. Breakfast was delicious and generous. The courtyard was unfortunately a bit smelly, all felt a bit damp and cold. Overall not worth Euro 130, although we realize that Matera overall was pricier than other locations.

Room tip: Go for the larger rooms if you don't mind the price tag
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte S, Proprietario at Corte San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Sir, thank you so much for the compliments on the delicious and rich breakfast. The climate in Matera is sometimes wet and cold, and this can unfortunately cause "smell of countryside" even in the magic Sassi.
We are glad you have noticed at the end of the stay that Matera costs a little more than other cities. The explanation for this lies in the fact that the uniqueness of this place requires management and, even before, restoration costs absolutely higher compared to many other situations. We hope to see you at the opening of our soul Spa. For this occasion, we will reserve the best conditions to our past guests to live the experience of large rooms where many children and animals used to live until 50 years ago.
We look forward to hearing/seeing you and/or your friends soon. With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Corte San Pietro is incredible. It is the amazing result of a long labour of love for the owner, Fernando, who was a charming host. The rooms are unique and decorated stylishly yet simply. Breakfast was superb - fruit, pastries, beautiful bread, cheese, honey, meats, juices etc. The location is perfect - right in the heart of the sassi and close to great restaurants (thanks to Fernando for the recommendations).

And it sounds like the place will only get better when a spa is added in the cisterns discovered below the property during the renovations. Be sure to ask for a tour which the staff will be more than happy to give you - it is fascinating.

In summary, just book. You will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

During our 10 day trip in Europe, this place is truly the best highlight!! Not a single problem and the stay was just more than perfect. Modern and stylish interior, great breakfast, helpful and friendly staffs, we want to come back soon!! Would recommend 300%!

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioricross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A wonderful, romantic place. We were going to stay at the premiere hotel in the Sassi but I did not want to carry our luggage and we did not like the idea of no doors. So, I chose a junior suite at Corte San Pietro. The owners and staff were wonderful and the Sassi are also. The Sassi are rich in history, and not all great, but you must visit if in southern Italy or Puglia. And stay at this hotel. Expanding to ten rooms within a year or two, this hotel will soon be the grand dame of the Sassi. I will be proud to say I stayed there when and know that I will be remembered as a valued guest should I wish to stay again! Must not be missed!

Room tip: Decide if you want bath or shower or both. Our room had chromatotherapy shower and the large suite had a huge bath cut out of stone. They all have personality and you will not go wrong.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamandaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews