We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sassi dream!”
Review of Corte San Pietro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corte San Pietro
Ranked #5 of 203 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Unique place, hospitable and beautiful. Excellent customer service, they made sure we were taken care.This place was once a sassi (cave) were a family with several children and their horses, pigs, chicken lived, the history is just amazing, we learned a lot of that period of time wish existed until the late 60's Highly recommended! Breakfast is included and very good one too! The hotel is near good restaurants and close to the center of Matera. Make sure to get a tour guide and go on a tour of the old part of town were the rest of the sassis are.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Roxana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 352 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a great hotel in Matera. The rooms are very nice and large. Temperature was comfortable despite being a little chilly at night outside. The bed was comfortable. The bath was very large, but the hot water could not keep up to fill it. The shower head was rain shower and they even had a hand held head too. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The owners even ran things at night and were extremely friendly! They made several good recommendations for lunch/dinner and pointed out things to see and do in the area. They even gave us a tour of the cisterns beneath the hotel! Great place to stay while here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We are traveling now for more than 4 weeks through Southern Italy and experienced many B&Bs during our trip. We honestly feel that this one was overpriced. We stayed in the double room, by far the smallest in this B&B but even at a slight discount the most expensive during our vacation. We were offered an upgrade for an additional 25% more (a bargain compared to official rates) which we did not accept, so the larger rooms remained empty during our stay. The offer was in sharp contrast to other B&Bs, were we had a free choice of rooms if they were not occupied. The double room was so small that there was no space for any kind of luggage. There were no closets or any other alternatives. Fine if you only travel for a weekend, we stayed for 4 nights...The bathroom (and toilet) had no door, the only window could not be opened. Fresh air was basically not available. Otherwise, the bed was very comfortable and the furniture very tasteful. We also received fresh fruit and water. Breakfast was delicious and generous. The courtyard was unfortunately a bit smelly, all felt a bit damp and cold. Overall not worth Euro 130, although we realize that Matera overall was pricier than other locations.

Room Tip: Go for the larger rooms if you don't mind the price tag
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corte S, Proprietario at Corte San Pietro, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Sir, thank you so much for the compliments on the delicious and rich breakfast. The climate in Matera is sometimes wet and cold, and this can unfortunately cause "smell of countryside" even in the magic Sassi.
We are glad you have noticed at the end of the stay that Matera costs a little more than other cities. The explanation for this lies in the fact that the uniqueness of this place requires management and, even before, restoration costs absolutely higher compared to many other situations. We hope to see you at the opening of our soul Spa. For this occasion, we will reserve the best conditions to our past guests to live the experience of large rooms where many children and animals used to live until 50 years ago.
We look forward to hearing/seeing you and/or your friends soon. With warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Corte San Pietro is incredible. It is the amazing result of a long labour of love for the owner, Fernando, who was a charming host. The rooms are unique and decorated stylishly yet simply. Breakfast was superb - fruit, pastries, beautiful bread, cheese, honey, meats, juices etc. The location is perfect - right in the heart of the sassi and close to great restaurants (thanks to Fernando for the recommendations).

And it sounds like the place will only get better when a spa is added in the cisterns discovered below the property during the renovations. Be sure to ask for a tour which the staff will be more than happy to give you - it is fascinating.

In summary, just book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

During our 10 day trip in Europe, this place is truly the best highlight!! Not a single problem and the stay was just more than perfect. Modern and stylish interior, great breakfast, helpful and friendly staffs, we want to come back soon!! Would recommend 300%!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioricross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A wonderful, romantic place. We were going to stay at the premiere hotel in the Sassi but I did not want to carry our luggage and we did not like the idea of no doors. So, I chose a junior suite at Corte San Pietro. The owners and staff were wonderful and the Sassi are also. The Sassi are rich in history, and not all great, but you must visit if in southern Italy or Puglia. And stay at this hotel. Expanding to ten rooms within a year or two, this hotel will soon be the grand dame of the Sassi. I will be proud to say I stayed there when and know that I will be remembered as a valued guest should I wish to stay again! Must not be missed!

Room Tip: Decide if you want bath or shower or both. Our room had chromatotherapy shower and the large suite h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamandaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary, the room was very large, quirky and was beautifully furnished with style, and the bath was cut into the rock. Very unusual design and so nice that we didn't want to go out!
The very friendly hosts greeted us with a lovely bottle of Prosecco and fresh fruit on arrival, the only disappointment was that we only stayed for one night.
When we return to Matera we will stay here again, and have time to really explore this 'little gem' hidden piece of Italy.
Thank you for everything, we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.3 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
0.2 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
BB La Corte dei Pastori
BB La Corte dei Pastori
#4 of 203 in Matera
449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Origini
Le Origini
#2 of 203 in Matera
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte San Pietro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte San Pietro

Address: Via Bruno Buozzi 97 B, 75100, Matera, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 203 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range: $136 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corte San Pietro is a micro district, a neighbourhood, with a courtyard onto which face rooms and suites carved out from the tufa stone, soft local sedimentary limestone. The rooms, former cave-dwellings, keep the same house number as in the past, when they were inhabited by large families. Remained uninhabited for over 50 years, they have been subject to a long and accurate process of preservation and restoration with discreet modern technological systems and have now become unusual and unique rooms and suites. Breakfast is being served in the courtyard in summertime. The historical structure has been laid bare, enhancing the masonry in tufa stone featured by niches and old-aged openings, and topped by large vaults. In the courtyard, the upper part of three cisterns helps understand the systems formerly used to collect the rain waters, subsequently connected to one another probably during the second world war. They now can be visited through highly suggestive inner passages. This is one of the main reasons why Matera is part of the Unesco world heritage list since 1993, rainwaters were then used by the inhabitants of the cave-dwellings. At Corte San Pietro, technology is invisibile, Wi-Fi is available everywhere, which allows our hosts to use it admiring the plants typical of the mediterranean vegetation such as salvia, rosemary or myrtle. Just a stone away from the hotel, the cave-church Madonna de Idris overlooks the Sasso Caveoso and the suggestive stream Gravina. Leaving the church, downstairs is the Piazza S. Pietro Caveoso with the beautiful baroque church dating back to the 14 C. Farther up, Via Purgatorio vecchio with the church where Saint John of Matera was born and where now it is possible to visit a huge cistern called Palombaro, used in the past to collect the rain waters coming from the hill where the castle Tramontano stands. Nearby, the district Malve, where graves dating back to the lombard period were found and mentioned in Carlo Levi's book as "the dead are above the living". Going from Via Buozzi up to the Civita Hill is the MUSMA, the most important italian museum exclusively dedicated to the contemporary scuplture, located in the 17 c. Palazzo Pomarici, the only italian museum in cave: a perfect symbiosis between the sculptures and some of the most characteristical places in the heart of the Sassi. A little farther up, the cathedral dating back to the 13 c., built in romanesque-apulian style on the highest point of the hill that divides the two Sassi. And a lot more to see... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Corte San Pietro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing