We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
378
20
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
20
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesfresh fruit and waterremarkable historybreakfast roombruschettaplace to stayremarkable experiencehis wifebreakfast was deliciouslocal delicaciesthis wonderful placerain showercave dwellingsvery special placeguided tourunique settingcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 404 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Corte San Pietro is incredible. It is the amazing result of a long labour of love for the owner, Fernando, who was a charming host. The rooms are unique and decorated stylishly yet simply. Breakfast was superb - fruit, pastries, beautiful bread, cheese, honey, meats, juices etc. The location is perfect - right in the heart of the sassi and close to great restaurants (thanks to Fernando for the recommendations).

And it sounds like the place will only get better when a spa is added in the cisterns discovered below the property during the renovations. Be sure to ask for a tour which the staff will be more than happy to give you - it is fascinating.

In summary, just book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

During our 10 day trip in Europe, this place is truly the best highlight!! Not a single problem and the stay was just more than perfect. Modern and stylish interior, great breakfast, helpful and friendly staffs, we want to come back soon!! Would recommend 300%!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ioricross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

A wonderful, romantic place. We were going to stay at the premiere hotel in the Sassi but I did not want to carry our luggage and we did not like the idea of no doors. So, I chose a junior suite at Corte San Pietro. The owners and staff were wonderful and the Sassi are also. The Sassi are rich in history, and not all great, but you must visit if in southern Italy or Puglia. And stay at this hotel. Expanding to ten rooms within a year or two, this hotel will soon be the grand dame of the Sassi. I will be proud to say I stayed there when and know that I will be remembered as a valued guest should I wish to stay again! Must not be missed!

Room Tip: Decide if you want bath or shower or both. Our room had chromatotherapy shower and the large suite had a huge bath cut out of stone. They all have personality and you will not go wrong.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamandaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary, the room was very large, quirky and was beautifully furnished with style, and the bath was cut into the rock. Very unusual design and so nice that we didn't want to go out!
The very friendly hosts greeted us with a lovely bottle of Prosecco and fresh fruit on arrival, the only disappointment was that we only stayed for one night.
When we return to Matera we will stay here again, and have time to really explore this 'little gem' hidden piece of Italy.
Thank you for everything, we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigelorrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This rather new hotel (opened April 2012) has all ingrediences for a perfect overnight stay. Why? First the location. In the middle of the ancient city (Sassi) opposite the cave church. Walking in the town is nearly a spiritual experience. Especially in the early morning when there are no tourists. The 5 rooms (120 euro a night, breakfast included) are beautifully decorated, very stylish with high quality material. Comfortable beds, nice cover and plenty of pillows. Speedy, good functioning WIFI. You feel immediately at home. We were especially pleased with the upgrade to the loft room with an wonderful bathroom (romantic bath/separate shower). We spent many hours reading at the cosy courtyard where, in the evenings, candles were lighted. So romantic. The owners/staff are attentive and helpful and rightly proud of their place. We were shown around in the cisterns under the hotel. The owners have plans to start a ‘mental’ spa in these unique settings. Breakfast is served in the stylish breakfast room or court yard. Cereals, yoghurt, bruscetta with tomatoes, toasted bread with cheese, sweet croissants, fresh fruit. We had dinner at Fransica’s, a local restaurant 50 meters away from the hotel. One of the best meals we had in this part of Italy. As experienced (and spoiled) travellers we were astonished about the whole experience. So positive! By the way, do not forget to visit the Musma museum with contempory art. Another good recommendation of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews