We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (406)
Filter reviews
406 results
Traveler rating
380
20
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
20
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastries fresh fruit and water remarkable history breakfast room bruschetta place to stay remarkable experience his wife breakfast was delicious local delicacies this wonderful place rain shower cave dwellings very special place guided tour unique setting comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 406 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This rather new hotel (opened April 2012) has all ingrediences for a perfect overnight stay. Why? First the location. In the middle of the ancient city (Sassi) opposite the cave church. Walking in the town is nearly a spiritual experience. Especially in the early morning when there are no tourists. The 5 rooms (120 euro a night, breakfast included) are beautifully decorated, very stylish with high quality material. Comfortable beds, nice cover and plenty of pillows. Speedy, good functioning WIFI. You feel immediately at home. We were especially pleased with the upgrade to the loft room with an wonderful bathroom (romantic bath/separate shower). We spent many hours reading at the cosy courtyard where, in the evenings, candles were lighted. So romantic. The owners/staff are attentive and helpful and rightly proud of their place. We were shown around in the cisterns under the hotel. The owners have plans to start a ‘mental’ spa in these unique settings. Breakfast is served in the stylish breakfast room or court yard. Cereals, yoghurt, bruscetta with tomatoes, toasted bread with cheese, sweet croissants, fresh fruit. We had dinner at Fransica’s, a local restaurant 50 meters away from the hotel. One of the best meals we had in this part of Italy. As experienced (and spoiled) travellers we were astonished about the whole experience. So positive! By the way, do not forget to visit the Musma museum with contempory art. Another good recommendation of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Corte San Pietro is a stunning cave hotel in the Unesco World Heritage site of Matera in Southern Italy. The way the owners have transformed this building oozes style. The rooms had everything you could want and more. We were greeted with coffee and made very welcome. When we came back from dinner we were treated to a digestivo in the lovely courtyard. Breakfast was very fresh and delicious. We were shown round the cisterns that have been discovered under the caves by Anne, a fount of information on cave dwelling, and shown where they are developing a Spa. This is an amazing place and deserves to do well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights at the start of our two week trip to Italy and we were delighted that we chose to start our holiday off here. The hotel is uniquely built into a cave , as most are in matera, and it was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The owner of the hotel, Fernando, was really helpful by giving us the history of the hotel and Anne was also extremely helpful in giving us some recommendations of things to do etc. Matera is a beautiful town which we will definitely re-visit and , without hesitation, we would stay in Corte San Petro on our next trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AndyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect place to visit Matera, a fantastic old town... Can say looks like pictures of Gerusalem!

This is a small hotel with fantastic family service, the owner is charming and will explain to you the history of his hotel. You will sleep in charmy rooms, in a stone cave room... Typical of Matera.
Breakfast is very good and served in a nice room.
You can park the car in front of the hotel free of charge.. If you find a place or have bigger public parking not far away.
You do not have a restaurant in the hotel but can eat at "Francesca" walking fistance from hotel, suggested from the owner and very good!
Matera and this hotel is one of the best of our trip in Basilicata e Puglia.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GianSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Others have said it already--- this hotel is outstanding. It only has 5 cave-like rooms with a beautiful courtyard and yet it stands out as one of the most unique, peaceful, exciting hotel I've ever stayed in. Start with the fact it is located in Matera--- an ancient, world heritage site. Then add the uniqueness of the cave rooms, each one totally different from the others. The rooms are natural, simple and beautifully constructed. The bathroom fixtures are modern but shelves and other things are antique-- beautiful. Finally add incredible hospitality and you will begin to understand why you should stay here. There is so much attention to detail--- antique furniture, linen table cloths, writing paper, rain-head shower, candles burning, flowing water.... Ask for a tour of the cisterns under the hotel!! The proprietor and staff will answer any questions and will help you in any way they can. I was even handed the International Tribune in English this morning because they thought I might like some news!

Don't miss Corte San Pietro! Don't bother looking at the others!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews