We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
377
20
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
20
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesfresh fruit and waterbreakfast roomremarkable historybruschettaplace to stayremarkable experiencehis wifelocal delicaciesthis wonderful placerain showerbreakfast was deliciouscave dwellingsvery special placeguided tourunique settingcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 403 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Corte San Pietro is a stunning cave hotel in the Unesco World Heritage site of Matera in Southern Italy. The way the owners have transformed this building oozes style. The rooms had everything you could want and more. We were greeted with coffee and made very welcome. When we came back from dinner we were treated to a digestivo in the lovely courtyard. Breakfast was very fresh and delicious. We were shown round the cisterns that have been discovered under the caves by Anne, a fount of information on cave dwelling, and shown where they are developing a Spa. This is an amazing place and deserves to do well.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights at the start of our two week trip to Italy and we were delighted that we chose to start our holiday off here. The hotel is uniquely built into a cave , as most are in matera, and it was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The owner of the hotel, Fernando, was really helpful by giving us the history of the hotel and Anne was also extremely helpful in giving us some recommendations of things to do etc. Matera is a beautiful town which we will definitely re-visit and , without hesitation, we would stay in Corte San Petro on our next trip.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank AndyandHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a perfect place to visit Matera, a fantastic old town... Can say looks like pictures of Gerusalem!

This is a small hotel with fantastic family service, the owner is charming and will explain to you the history of his hotel. You will sleep in charmy rooms, in a stone cave room... Typical of Matera.
Breakfast is very good and served in a nice room.
You can park the car in front of the hotel free of charge.. If you find a place or have bigger public parking not far away.
You do not have a restaurant in the hotel but can eat at "Francesca" walking fistance from hotel, suggested from the owner and very good!
Matera and this hotel is one of the best of our trip in Basilicata e Puglia.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GianSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Others have said it already--- this hotel is outstanding. It only has 5 cave-like rooms with a beautiful courtyard and yet it stands out as one of the most unique, peaceful, exciting hotel I've ever stayed in. Start with the fact it is located in Matera--- an ancient, world heritage site. Then add the uniqueness of the cave rooms, each one totally different from the others. The rooms are natural, simple and beautifully constructed. The bathroom fixtures are modern but shelves and other things are antique-- beautiful. Finally add incredible hospitality and you will begin to understand why you should stay here. There is so much attention to detail--- antique furniture, linen table cloths, writing paper, rain-head shower, candles burning, flowing water.... Ask for a tour of the cisterns under the hotel!! The proprietor and staff will answer any questions and will help you in any way they can. I was even handed the International Tribune in English this morning because they thought I might like some news!

Don't miss Corte San Pietro! Don't bother looking at the others!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The minute you walk in you know that you will long to come back to Corte San Petro. This place captures the unique magic of Matera in a wonderful way. Everything has been restored with tremendous care. The rooms and the public spaces exude taste and harmony. The breakfast matches the high standards of the accomodation being a succesion of small marvels (do try the ricotta). What makes Corte San Pietro truely unique, however, is the attention the charming owner Fernando and the incredibly helpful receptionist Anne accord their guests. It´s hard not to be blown away by their warmth and passion for Matera!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comilonabelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews