We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
378
20
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
378
20
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspastriesfresh fruit and waterbreakfast roomremarkable historybruschettaplace to stayremarkable experiencehis wifelocal delicaciesthis wonderful placerain showerbreakfast was deliciouscave dwellingsvery special placeguided tourunique settingcomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 404 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Or even getting an old one exited? Here is the place !!!! Beyond all things already said by others,
it is like diving in another world! Has already Matera a charm hard to beat, here is the final pearl in the crown. All made with so much love and taking care of details, this is a place out of competition.......nothing for fans of Hilton's, Hyatt's and like's which measure places by the number of lifts, sizes of the TV's, room-service, heated swimming pools and other things like this....this a soul food pure! You always wanted to write a book ? Start or finish it there.....

Since Fernando and his wife were challenged to make cave's and hotel needs matching , every space required his own solution . An ton's of fantasie and commitment...just to mention the glass of the windows: no industrial whatsoever-transparent-material . No , handrolled like in the past !
The best of it : in no angle of the structure you feel fakeness or find nostalgic kitsch (unfortunally standard of so many places) !

Leaving it ,prepare yourself a place in your heart, it will remain there .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

A really beautiful, unique place. Cisterns below, caves for a room all done up very tastefully (and with wood fom the MelGibson film- Passion of the Christ), excellent home made honey and ricotat at bfast and personal tours. Its not often one gets to stay in a unesco heritage site, and this place is warm without being intrusive. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I almost didn't stop in Matera, but am so glad I did it is a magical place that has to be seen to be believed! But the accommodation I stayed in was just as magical. The rooms open onto a beautiful courtyard in the middle of a gorgeous area. The rooms are perfect and have spoilt me for the rest of my trip. Every detail has been considered. The breakfast was also amazing. But the most important aspect of Corte San Pietro is the owner Fernando and Anna who works there. They did everything possible to make sure the stay was perfect. Fernando even helped me put my travel bike together that took over an hour (and supplied a missing Alan key from his own supplies!). Underneath the rooms is a surprise with 8 ancient cisterns that add to the magical experience of staying in this lovely place. Would be back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

By far the most delightful hotel we have ever stayed in. As soon as you walk in your every need is accounted for. There may only be five rooms but all of them were beautiful. Formed from rock it was evident how much love was put into the design of each one. Fernando the owner and Anna in reception were a fount of information about the town and restaurants and made our stay there memorable. So hard to describe in uniqueness of the room's design - everything well thought out. We had a small glass 'peep hole' into the cisterns below and were given a guided tour before we left. Different and pleasing breakfast and attentive service from Francesca. Well placed for touring the town and fine for parking. We shall certainly be returning to this welcoming, restful and perfect haven. An ideal spot for a honeymoon.

Room Tip: No worries - all rooms are fantastic!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pameloula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The owners of this property are charming, friendly, and accommodating. They have a vision for the place which has been executed flawlessly in the rooms and lobby -- and will continue in the cisterns below in the future, as well as other rooms in an adjacent building. The location is terrific, and is a great base camp for wandering all over this remarkable town.

Taste is subjective, so if you are looking for minimalist decor with high-end finishes this hotel should definitely be in your consideration set.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAX-DEN-Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews