We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view. Beautiful receptionist. Beautiful breakfast.”
Review of Hotel Sassi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sassi
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I and my family stayed in this wonderful hotel at the peak of the hot summer (August). What a relief when we were shown our cave room, which could have easily slept 10 people! It was massive, and cool, with multiple levels. There were three bathrooms in our cave room, and although they weren't by any means "flash," they suited our purposes quite well. In this large room, each member of our family could find nice nooks in which to watch the world walk by.

Matera is a wonderful maze of cobblestones, hills and piazzas, and you get a great feel for the town just by walking around and getting lost. You cannot take a bad photo in this place!

The parking that the hotel provides is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and not in the pedestrian zone. If you stay here, it's best to leave your big heavy luggage in the car and take a simple day/backpack to the hotel as heavy luggage on wheels is an absolute nightmare everywhere in this town.

The town is quiet during the heat of the day, but restaurants and cafes begin opening around 8pm and the square underneath the hotel can be quite lively until 1 am. This wasn't a problem for us, as we can sleep through everything. Light sleepers might want to request a room in the hotel proper, which is only a few flights up from the cave rooms.

Breakfast at the hotel was wonderful and the kitchen staff made us excellent coffee per our wishes (capuccinos, espressos, americanos, etc) The focaccia bread with local vegetables and seasonal fruit assortment with cereals and yogurts pleased every member of our family. Just sitting on the breakfast terrace and watching the world go by was a treat in and of itself.

Reception was super friendly with both sons giving the receptionist a "5" for her good looks and graciousness. The male receptionist was also extremely helpful in recommending a great place to eat.

Our trip to Matera was short, only one night, but I would recommend at least two days to go hiking in the beautiful environs. We were very reluctant to leave!

Thanks, Hotel Sassi, for a wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: If you like quirky and interesting rooms, try a cave room. If you want a more sedate stay, ask for r...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolynZukowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sassi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 485 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Nothing in the sassi area is really easy to find, but this hotel is worth searching out. It has amazing views of the sassi and the cathedral. The staff is exceptionally helpful and breakfast is amazing. If you have a car you can park in the nearby Damesco parking lot for 10 euro/night.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrewLSalem_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here with our toddler in November 2012. We had a large en-suite 'cave' room with a small balcony and a great view. They provided us with a cotbed and bedding. The hotel is well located, very close to the centre of town, but if you are with a toddler, there are steps (but the whole of matera is made up of steps & cobbles so bring the baby career!) The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet. The breakfast was excellent - we stuffed ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was in Matera August 11th to August 14th. The city is absolutely splendid, like no other city in the world. It is the most natural movie setting in the world.the likes of Pier Paolo Pasolini,Mel Gibson and other big directors have shot in this spectacular town. The hotel Sassi ( stones literally translated) is very quaint, it has a spectacular view of the ancient city and it is only about a 5 minute walk from the best restaurants in southern Italy. The rooms are very comfortable , well appointed and very clean.
Basilicata is the least known region in Italy but it is worth the trip
Alfonso

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aalanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were two families of four whose expectation were mire than exceeded in Matera. Sassi are a world class attraction and Hotel Sassi an excellent choice for the views and genuine feeling of sassi. I'd have given it 5 stars if the room was a bit more convenient (we paid 120€/night). I suggest the upper rooms (e.g. 611) where there is no smell in the rooms an silent AC provides nice air and temperature for a good sleep. There are many well chosen details in the room that take you back 70 or more years. Very good Italian breakfast and exquisit pizza in La Taloa, few steps below the hotel. But above all, yes, the strategic position amidst Sassi Barisiano. Recommended for families!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UrosStanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Matera is one of the most beautiful villages in Italy. The San Biagio has an ideal location and could be remarkable. The management needs to make some fundamental changes, however. When I arrived, the bed was made with the dirty sheets from the previous customer. I pointed this out and the maid replaced the filthy pillow case. I had to insist that she make the entire bed with clean sheets. Then I sat down at the desk and almost fell on the floor. The chair was broken. I am 1m83 and weigh 84 kilos, so such an accident is not due to extreme weight conditions.

I asked about a restaurant that is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and is very favorably reviewed in Trip Advisor and they had no information about it.

The view from the small, but well organized, room was stunning. They need to replace the broken furniture and hire maids who do their jobs. In addition, they should make it their business to know about local restaurants and be able to advise their guests.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location with a great view of the Sassi. Request room 611 if possible, it has the best view and is not claustrophobic. The showers are small and do not have good amenities, they also need to update the televisions. The staff was very helpful and Vivian went out of her way to make sure we were pleased with everything. The hotel itself needs some updating, fresh coat of paint, new linens, and towels. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but would probably look for something a little more updated the next time.

Room Tip: Room 611 is the best!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phalen2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.1 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.1 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Viceconte
Palazzo Viceconte
#3 of 30 in Matera
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Sassi San Gennaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sassi

Address: Via San Giovanni Vecchio 89 | Sasso Barisano, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range: $109 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sassi 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sassi reveals the magic atmosphere of an enchanting 18th century complex located within the "Sasso Barisano", surrounded by terraces overlooking the romanesque Cathedral and the enchanting view of the Sassi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sassi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassi Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing