We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, we were well looked after” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sassi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sassi
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Province of Enna, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view, we were well looked after”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here with our toddler in November 2012. We had a large en-suite 'cave' room with a small balcony and a great view. They provided us with a cotbed and bedding. The hotel is well located, very close to the centre of town, but if you are with a toddler, there are steps (but the whole of matera is made up of steps & cobbles so bring the baby career!) The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was quiet. The breakfast was excellent - we stuffed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    194
    82
    8
    9
See reviews for
89
164
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Edison, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I was in Matera August 11th to August 14th. The city is absolutely splendid, like no other city in the world. It is the most natural movie setting in the world.the likes of Pier Paolo Pasolini,Mel Gibson and other big directors have shot in this spectacular town. The hotel Sassi ( stones literally translated) is very quaint, it has a spectacular view of the ancient city and it is only about a 5 minute walk from the best restaurants in southern Italy. The rooms are very comfortable , well appointed and very clean.
Basilicata is the least known region in Italy but it is worth the trip
Alfonso

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aalanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were two families of four whose expectation were mire than exceeded in Matera. Sassi are a world class attraction and Hotel Sassi an excellent choice for the views and genuine feeling of sassi. I'd have given it 5 stars if the room was a bit more convenient (we paid 120€/night). I suggest the upper rooms (e.g. 611) where there is no smell in the rooms an silent AC provides nice air and temperature for a good sleep. There are many well chosen details in the room that take you back 70 or more years. Very good Italian breakfast and exquisit pizza in La Taloa, few steps below the hotel. But above all, yes, the strategic position amidst Sassi Barisiano. Recommended for families!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UrosStanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Matera is one of the most beautiful villages in Italy. The San Biagio has an ideal location and could be remarkable. The management needs to make some fundamental changes, however. When I arrived, the bed was made with the dirty sheets from the previous customer. I pointed this out and the maid replaced the filthy pillow case. I had to insist that she make the entire bed with clean sheets. Then I sat down at the desk and almost fell on the floor. The chair was broken. I am 1m83 and weigh 84 kilos, so such an accident is not due to extreme weight conditions.

I asked about a restaurant that is a 5 minute walk from the hotel and is very favorably reviewed in Trip Advisor and they had no information about it.

The view from the small, but well organized, room was stunning. They need to replace the broken furniture and hire maids who do their jobs. In addition, they should make it their business to know about local restaurants and be able to advise their guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel has a fantastic location with a great view of the Sassi. Request room 611 if possible, it has the best view and is not claustrophobic. The showers are small and do not have good amenities, they also need to update the televisions. The staff was very helpful and Vivian went out of her way to make sure we were pleased with everything. The hotel itself needs some updating, fresh coat of paint, new linens, and towels. Overall, we enjoyed our stay but would probably look for something a little more updated the next time.

Room Tip: Room 611 is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phalen2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borgå
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I arrived very early and my room was not ready yet, however the lady in the reception noticed that I was exhausted and offered me coffee and a croissant. I was able to get my room earlier than normally and was very delighted it had a balcony facing the sassi. The view from the room was breathtaking, the room itself was simple but nice, the breakfast was nice with the usual cakes but also foccaccia. The only thing was my room was very close to the reception so I could hear everything that went on there, so I used ear plugs and Thörn I skeptisk like a princess.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hajepaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and Matera is absolutely amazing.

The hotel it self is very worn and old. It is clean but needs new furnishings and painting. At best it's a three star and that due to it's location.

Room Tip: pack light the walk from the outside of the old town (parking) to the hotel is long, very bumpy and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnBiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.0 mi away
Locanda di San Martino -  Hotel e Thermae
0.3 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio Matera Albergo Diffuso nei Sassi
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sassi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sassi

Property: Hotel Sassi
Address: Via San Giovanni Vecchio 89 | Sasso Barisano, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sassi 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sassi reveals the magic atmosphere of an enchanting 18th century complex located within the "Sasso Barisano", surrounded by terraces overlooking the romanesque Cathedral and the enchanting view of the Sassi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sassi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sassi Hotel Matera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing