We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wedding, amazing place, amazing people!!!”
Review of San Teodoro Nuovo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Teodoro Nuovo
Ranked #22 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Matera
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing wedding, amazing place, amazing people!!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My Wife and I got married at San Teodoro on the 26th May 2013 and we had the an absolutely beautiful wedding with 32 of our family and friends from the UK. Maria who owns the venue is the nicest most hospitable person you could be lucky enough to meet and she made sure that our wedding was everything we hoped it would be and more. We got married in the small and intimate family chapel and had our reception in the stone-cobbled court yard of the main house with the sun setting and the swallows flying above us from wall to wall. Meno Maggi, the head chef, is very famous in the area and created a delicious menu which we still dream about to this day! We had all the accommodation to ourselves for 10 days and it was so peaceful and relaxing. Our thanks also go to Maria, Giovanni, Stella, Camilla, Antonia, Teresa and the rest of the staff for making it an unbelievable experience for everyone and one we will never forget!! We be back as soon as we can !!!!

*Please note that the more professional looking pictures we've included were from our brilliant photographers who came all the way from Rome - OD2 photography (obiettivodigitale.net), thank Olga and Danielle xx

Room Tip: The suite in the main house is beautiful which so much history. The rooms next to the main house ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovelaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    5
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vfortunata@aol.com
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I had wanted our anniversary to be extra special and picked San Teodoro because of what I researched. Giovanni and Nunzia both were welcoming and informative, I am thankful for that.

As a restaurant owner, I researched well in advance the special food guides for our Italian journey this year.  San Teodoro Nuovo was written in the slow food guide for an accommodation that provides organic products from their agriturismo, farm to table, to their guests.

I do have to mention, at dinner last night, we ate outside at the restaurant, while insecticide was a constant linger in the air. We had to eat quickly and leave. We decided not to have dinner for our second evening and hoped breakfast would be a satisfying experience.

Breakfast was so disappointing. To serve boxed cereal, store bought yogurt, packaged ham and
imitation orange juice. . . What can i say? I at least expected fresh squeezed orange juice and something like a fresh roll of some sort, etc., especially since the agriturismo is surrounded by orange trees. 

Room Tip: Communication on- line did not compare to my visit. The geographical Location is beautiful and I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westsidecafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our family of 4 (children age 8 and 6) stayed here for a week whilst attending our friends wedding. Maria and her staff were truly wonderful, so warm and friendly, we were made to feel welcome and at home. The accommodation was fantastic, very spacious and clean, we had a lovely apartment just next to the pool area. The pool was nice, clean and tidy with a pool room/toilet with a fridge for beers and soft drinks. The surroundings here were splendid, mesmerising, beautiful orange and lemon trees lined the property. The food was lovely albeit too much to eat, antipasti and pasta with a meat main course and desserts and coffee and not forgetting the limoncello to finish. The wine was local but a decent offering for the price. Therese in the restaurant was a delight, her English limited but always going that extra mile. There is a supermarket 10 minutes away and the beach is also around a 10 minute drive. We travelled into the local town of Pisticci and a pizza cost 5 euros which was great value. Our family had an amazing time and we will almost certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BingoBingoBongoBongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by this oasis at the end of the long journey, flying from milan to bari and the long journey to the basilicata, with our 2 year old. I did not know what to expect but WOW! We stayed in a little self-catering villa which made life easier with a young traveller. The beaches were quiet and pleasant. The dinner was the best we had compared with nearby restaurants. The service was excellent, the setting was amazing. I wanted to cover the entire estate in one mourning but my 2 year old fell asleep within 20 minutes of leaving the villa. Needless to say I never felt so relaxed and found the slightest noice from vehicles irritated me because one would hear nothing for hours and suddenly the engine of a tractor would shatter the silence. I loved walking amongst the orchards and vines and just sitting outside the little garden area enjoying the sunshine. The staff were friendly. I even enjoyed a dip in the pool which is a good size. We found the whole experience very calming and finally a place in italy where the airconditioner actually works!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandrabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Spent 5 nights here with my wife and two sons (aged 12 and 16). Spacious 2 bedroom apartment surrounded by gardens and farm land. Well maintained property with friendly staff. The beautiful pool was a 10 min walk away down a tree lined avenue to the main house which is often used for weddings. Weather was perfect and the apartment had air con to keep it cool. Nice breakfasts included and superb, home-cooked, dinners on request. Easy access to beaches (nearest about a 15 min drive) on the Ionian Coast and interesting towns like Bernalda, Pisticci (both about 30 mins) and Matera (1 hr). Really loved it here and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent one week in San Teodoro Nuovo, and we had a wonderful time, the house is full of charm, in the middle of fields of oranges and olives, excellent breakfast and dinner, we enjoy every single moment, only difficulty, to leave the place!!! A lot to visit around, walk on the beaches, go around visiting beautiful villages, golf around, and excellent food

Room Tip: if you are 2 couples or with children small villas are perfect because with own small garden, if laz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

On our drive across southern Italy with friends we enjoyed two glorious days/nights at San Teodoro Nuovo. This farm/vineyard was the highlight of our trip. We were welcomed by very gracious Maria & Giovanni. We were very fortunate to reside in one wing (2 bedrooms with a living room, kitchen, and patio) of the main brick villa which was covered end-to-end with bougainvillea vines. The entire property was magnificent...apartment furnishings, the courtyard, gardens, pool area, cypress-lined driveway, and the restaurant located in the vineyards. The quality of the dinners and breakfasts was excellent. Much of the foods originated in the farm’s organic fields. Hopefully we will visit again, and stay longer. Thanks again for a wonderful, wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matera
6.7 mi away
Torre Fiore Hotel Masseria
3.1 mi away
Hotel Forliano
Hotel Forliano
#9 of 11 in Bernalda
27 reviews
2.4 mi away
Masseria Cardillo
Masseria Cardillo
#2 of 11 in Bernalda
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Giardino Giamperduto
24.1 mi away
Masseria Santa Lucia
Masseria Santa Lucia
#4 of 64 in Matera
79 reviews
4.0 mi away
Masseria Scannaturco
Masseria Scannaturco
#1 of 2 in Marina di Pisticci
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Teodoro Nuovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Teodoro Nuovo

Property: San Teodoro Nuovo
Address: Loc. Marconia | Marconia di Pisticci, 75020, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing