We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BB La Corte dei Pastori
Ranked #3 of 178 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arezzo, Italy
Level Contributor
514 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and charming B&B”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Location ,location ,location. And in this case perfect right in front of the Sassi! Tiziana is a great host and gave us various advise for what do do during our day in Matera !grat plus they accept dogs ! Our room view was fantastic with a small terrace with table and chair overlooking the old town . Large room with a kitchenette and an extra gold up bed . I highly recommended it

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank paolok66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    27
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
228
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The view from the terrace of this tiny B and B must be one of the most spectacular in Matera _ especially enjoyable as you tuck into a delicious breakfast on a sunny morning. The couple who run it could not be more helpful. Our room was perfectly designed to fit into what is after all a cave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We found La Corte on Tripadvisor and it was as good as advertised. The location was perfect. Walking distance to Stassi, restaurants, the entire historical district and overlooking an attractive ravine. Our hostess Tziana was so pleasant and helpful with recommendations. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean, attractive and beds comfortable. We parked the car right next to the B&B and never moved it during the two nights we stayed here. My wife stocked up on wonderful little souveneirs that Tziana made. Great place to stay if you are staying in Matera.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjd5547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were in Matera this past September for 2 nights. We chose this B&B because of the great recommendations on trip advisor. We were not disappointed! Our room was very clean and comfortable and the views were fabulous. I am gluten intolerant and Tiziana went out of her way to provide a wonderful breakfast for my husband and myself. I think this was one of the most accommodating stays we have ever had. Mimo and Teziana are wonderful people and tried to be as helpful as possible. We are already looking forward to a return stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanandMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We werw recommended this place from a friend of ours who stayed here and it was an absolute delight. The owner, Tiziana was so helpful and caring and even gave us a cuckoo for good luck as we were newlyweds. The room was spacious and clean and breakfast was ample. She even plucked us some fresh figs from her fig tree. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thilithil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had an amazing time staying in this beautiful B&B. It's been located in the heart of the Sassi, the old part of the town, so everything is in walking distance, with beautiful views from the room and terrace.
Amazing restaurants and bars all around the corner.
The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful! Breakfast was very delicious! Yummy croissants, fresh local bread, jams, yoghurt, fruits etc... I miss it already!
The rooms are very characteristic, very clean and comfortable with amazing view over the Sassi!
If you ever come to Matera, this is the place to stay! Hope I can come back again one day!
I can highly recommend this lovely B&B to anyone!!!
Sylvia and Franco

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, new jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Prior to my arrival I read many reviews and viewed many photos none of which could compare with the experience my husband and I encountered at La Corte dei Pastori. The decor of the room was beautiful and the view was breathtaking. Mimo and Tiziana made us feel as if it was our home. Tizianas breakfasts were delicious (especially her homemade jams). Anyone thinking of going to Matera would be very wise to stay here as I give it the highest praise.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buca1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.2 mi away
Sextantio Le Grotte della Civita
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
0.1 mi away
Sant'Angelo Luxury Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Gattini Luxury Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dimora Santa Barbara
Dimora Santa Barbara
#26 of 178 in Matera
92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fra i Sassi Residence
Fra i Sassi Residence
#7 of 178 in Matera
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BB La Corte dei Pastori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB La Corte dei Pastori

Property: BB La Corte dei Pastori
Address: Piazza San Pietro Caveoso | Vico Bruno Buozzi, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed & Breakfast is located in the central square of the Sassi di Matera, in Sasso Caveoso near the church of St. Pietro Caveoso and next to the rock hewn church of the Madonna de Idris, from which you get a magnificent view. La Corte dei Pastori is an exceptional B & B lovingly renovated and furnished with well-preserved mosaics, cave dwellings and a Byzantine cross. From there you can see the Sassi in all their splendor and wealth, from there you will discover the glories of the past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your BB La Corte dei Pastori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing