We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My kind of place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gradelle Pennino B&B
Ranked #33 of 186 Matera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“My kind of place”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Loved my stay with Paola and Giuseppe in Gradelle Pennino B&B! We were in a group of 3 girls and stayed in the comfortable appartment. Everything was pretty and clean. The B&B is in the old part of Matera, in the "sasso caveoso". This means it's central for seeing the sights, but do bear in mind that there are steps to get here, and you can't park right outside. (Parking is available in a nearby square, for which you pay a few Euros per day.)
The best bit about staying in Gradelle Pennino was the breakfast! We ate on the roof terrace amongst beautiful flowers, watching the local kestrels fly around. The view was stupendous. The food was abundant and great (freshly baked moist chocolate cake for breakfast!).
Definitely a place I'll return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuesdaySue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
83
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Gradelle Pennino B&B in july 2012' and it was unforgettable! Not only due to the amazing sights of this UNESCO protected city, but also because of the accommodations and warm hospitality of Paola and Giuseppe, who own and operate the B&B. The apartment was amazing and unique, directly located in the Sassi Caveoso region which is the old town region with homes built into caves. The apartment was for my wife and I only, but could have easily accommodated an entire family. In the morning we were served delicious pastries that were homemade by our hosts. We enjoyed this meal on their rooftop terrace that overlooked the most incredible architecture I have ever seen. The apartment was clean, cool, and extremely comfortable which allowed us to relax after our long journeys. It felt like being at home!

I recommend Matera as a must see destination and hope that more North American travellers and vacationers discover it soon. I also highly recommend contacting Gradelle Pennino B&B for a place to stay if comfort, location, and wonderful hosts are important to you. This is the first time I have taken the time to review anything on trip advisor, so I hope that speaks to how wonderful our experiences were!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

An absolute pleasure from beginning to end. My hosts Paola and Guiseppe were just wonderful. Nothing too much trouble but never in my way. Breakfast was amazing on the terrace overlooking the Sassi. In a quiet area where you could only hear the birds in the distance. Room gorgeous and comfy. The bed was extremely comfortable. Excellent yoga and massage place 2 minutes away. I would definitely return to stay here again when I return to Matera. Matera is magic and my hosts made it a great experience!!!
Great B and B guys!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Visiting Matera, Basilicata, and staying at Gradelle B&B in the Sassi Caveoso no-car area, was the highlight of our 3-week Italy trip.
 
We decided on Matera after seeing pictures that looked like Jerusalem from 2000 years ago. No surprise to later learn that this was where Mel Gibson shot "The Passion of Christ". No one we talked with in Japan had ever heard of Matera, although most people have heard of the other UNESCO World Heritage site Alberobello in nearby Puglia.
 
Sassi started off as prehistoric cave dwellings. Sassi Barisano, on the northern side of modern Matera town, has artsy, renovated cafes, restaurants and hotels. Meanwhile Sassi Caveoso, on the southern side of modern Matera town is more rustic, undisturbed and less touristy. Additionally, Gradelle Pennino B&B in Sassi Caveoso had majestic views of the most prominent natural formation in Matera: the natural rock church of Our Lady of Idris.
 
We were met at the train station by Paola, her brother Giuseppe, and their father Thomas. Our English/Italian exchange was not perfect but we felt the good will emanating from the Barbaro family. The next day for breakfast Paola brought us beautiful chocolate cake she baked just for us, as well as delicious artigiano focaccia in the regional (Lucana) style. It was the best cake/focaccia we had in Italy! We brought up the food to the balcony and enjoyed the perfect sunny weather and the view of Our Lady of Idriss and the Rupestrian caves on the other side of the gorge. What a great way to start our Italy vacation!
 
We had the whole downstairs unit (4-6 people) ourselves (2 people): bedroom with double bed, bunk bed in the main activity room, big sofa, TV, kitchen, shower. We also had 24 hour access to the 2 rooftop balconies! The Barbaro's are currently renovating a second unit that would make it possible for a family of up to 8-9 people to stay together!
 
The B&B is in a no-car zone, about 100 steps downhill from Piazza Sedile where the Conservatory and St Francis Church are located. East of Piazza Sedile, towards the Youth Hostel, are probably the best views of Matera!
 
Also in the piazza is a very good Alimentari (grocery) where we bought toothpaste, frizzante water, Matera Primitivo wine (recommended!), mortadella and mozzarella buffala. Very convenient for our picnic across the gorge at the natural park of stone hewn churches (parco della chiese rupestre)! For mountain bikers out there, talk with Thomas about biking around basilicata: Thomas is a champion mountain biker and can introduce you to the folks at Ferula Viaggio, which rents out mountain bikes and itineraries.
 
The only minus with Gradelle Pennino is that there is currently no wifi. We solved this by buying a Telefonica Italia Mobile (TIM) SIM card that doubled as a hotspot as well. Also, the 100 steps between Piazza Sedile to the B&B might be a challenge for some.
 
We promised to help with translating more Gradelle Pennino info into Japanese so hopefully more Japanese tourists come to enjoy the beauty of Matera and the welcome of the Barbaro family!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alerjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Affaccio
L'Affaccio
#34 of 186 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alle Malve
Alle Malve
#18 of 186 in Matera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Antica Mateola Rooms & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alla dimora di Chiara Suite and Rooms
0.1 mi away
BB La Corte dei Pastori
BB La Corte dei Pastori
#3 of 186 in Matera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa di Ele
La Casa di Ele
#4 of 186 in Matera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gradelle Pennino B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gradelle Pennino B&B

Property: Gradelle Pennino B&B
Address: Via Pennino 3, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gradelle Pennino offers guests two solutions: An apartment for 5 people, with kitchen. A double room with bathroom. Two terraces on Sassi located in communal area. Delicious breakfast served on the terrace or in the breakfast area. WI-FI in rooms. The B & B of the brothers Giuseppe and Paola is located in Caveoso. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gradelle Pennino B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing