We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic tour

Finding non-Italian tours in Matera off-season is difficult, thus we were very lucky that Antonio... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mimi_Bnd
,
Krems an der Donau, Austria
via mobile
Wonderful tour of Matera - Sassi

Antonio’s knowledge of the history, architecture and fascinating accounts of the Sassi area and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
cervicheplease
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 586 reviews
  
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
171
1
1
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
1
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews his knowledge reviews say his colleague two hours short notice command of english an excellent guide speaks excellent english nice person water systems four hours grew up informed guide come alive meeting point interesting information first hand
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Finding non-Italian tours in Matera off-season is difficult, thus we were very lucky that Antonio managed to fit us in on very short notice. The tour was fantastic, he has extensive knowledge of the town’s fascinating history, architecture, culture and archaeology. Antonio’s English is fluent and easy to understand for other non-native English speakers. We very much enjoyed the tour, learned a lot and highly recommend Matera Tour Guide to everyone who wishes to experience Matera in more depth.

Thank Mimi_Bnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Antonio’s knowledge of the history, architecture and fascinating accounts of the Sassi area and Matera throughout time was fabulous.

We loved it and hopefully we can return again To see more of the fascinating Matera.

Thank cervicheplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We just completed a tour with Antonio Manicone of the stassi. He was wonderful. He was raised locally and was knowledgeable and enthusiastic about his town. He provided local insights into what could have been standard tourist fare providing a fun and informative tour.

Thank sophie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Renato Favilli is a FANTASTIC tour guide!!!!! We took a 2.5 hour tour of the cave churches across from the town of Matera and found Renato to be a repository of information! He was very passionate, knew EVERYTHING about the history of the area, was extremely accomadating, helped us navigate the terrain (wear good hiking shoes and be ready for a bit of a workout), answered all questions thoroughly and was just fun to be around. He made sure all our questions were answered and spent extra time with us (we paid for two hours and got an extra half hour). Renato has intimate knowledge of the Sassi as he grandparents lived in the caves until the 1950’s. Just a superior experience!

Thank Circa1856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

An excellent tour!!!!!! Look no further Antonio is outstanding!!! His sense of humor and knowledge of the area made of a very enjoyable day.

Thank kjohntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Antonio Manicone was born and raised in the Matera area. His grandmother lived in the Sassi. Antonio told us stories of exploring the area growing up and he took us to areas not easily accessible in trip 3 to the Murgia Materana. We took the Sassi tour with Antonio and there was a maximum group of 16. He speaks English well and gave us a general overview of the Sassi. He is very personable and easily approachable. He took us to a few sites where we paid to go inside and told us about other sites we could visit on our own. He was very informative on the architecture of the Sassi in regards to how it worked for the neighborhood.
For the Murgia Materana trip 3, he only takes a maximum of 4 people. I would have preferred a less strenuous trip, but another couple had already booked this tour and we didn't have any other time available. Since I wasn't sure I was physically fit for this hike, Antonio said I could decide after meeting him for the Sassi tour. Although the hike was difficult, it was rewarding. We saw rock cave sites that aren't seen by most tourists. Antonio's prices are reasonable and he drove us to the Park of the Murgia.
As a native, Antonio made the experience more special because you could tell that he really cares about Matera and he's a very nice person.

1  Thank Sashagirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

Booked a 2.25 hour tour with Antonio Manicone of Matera Tour Guide through the manager of our rental. At 9am, my sister & I met up with Antonio and 5 others for a walking tour of the Sasso Caveoso. Antonio speaks impeccable English and has astounding knowledge of Matera, architecture, history, economics, and even where to get a quick lunch after the tour! There was not a question he couldn’t answer. It was a very warm, sunny day, but Antonio was good at keeping us in shaded areas as often as possible. Highlights of the tour included an amazing overview of Matera history through modern times, a tour of an underground water/cistern system, and a tour of Sant Lucia alle Malve. Each group on tour received a map from Antonio at conclusion of tour with additional sites he would recommend we see on our own. There were two sites we stopped in to visit that has an admission charge separate from the tour price. Highly recommended tour. Price was 25 euro, but believe price is higher if only two are on tour. Wear comfy shoes good for bumpy cobblestone walkways.

Thank Cruiser803176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We were very uncertain whether or not to take a tour of the Sassi in Matera but were swayed by the positive reviews on trip advisor. We are really glad that we did go on Antonio's tour as it was illuminating. fascinating and well constructed and he is very personable with a perfect command of English. We only booked the night before and found that texting Antonio got a prompt response. There were the full complement of 16 on our tour but it didn't feel too crowded. The tour began at 3.30pm and we didn't enter the Sassi before that time feeling that it might somehow spoil the tour. This was an error, I would recommend to anyone to have at least one extra hour touring the Sassi on your own as Antonio's tour only covered a small area of the Sasso Caveoso and also we didn't get to visit the great cistern in town or the church of Santa Barbara which was a disappointment. Note that late in the season the rock churches and cave house museum close at 7 p.m. so we had very little time to do any extra things after the tour ended. In the summer, I believe, they stay open well into the evening. If I was going again I would like to stay overnight in Matera but we were staying a 2 hour drive away.
Thank you Antonio, we still think about the lonely eel in the cistern.

Thank 2014SMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018 via mobile

Matera local Cosimo treated us to his extensive knowledge and passion for this fascinating and historical place. His own intimate family connection with, and experience in the sassia, meant that he was able to vividly bring the past to life in your mind. It is not like anywhere I have ever been and I would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in history, anthropology, archaeology, geology or simply beautiful and a bit different!

Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

I emailed Antonio the night before we were going to Matera and by the time I woke up he had replied to offer us a tour in English with Cosimo that afternoon! We don’t tend to book many guided tours when travelling but I am so so glad we booked this tour - it really brought the city’s history to life and deepened our appreciation for the city and understanding of the Sassi. Cosimo was an excellent guide, passionate about the history and happy to answer all our questions. He was also flexible on which attractions we wanted to see - the whole tour was friendly and fun but packed full of so much interesting information. I would absolutely recommend anyone visiting Matera even just for a few hours should book this tour. Thank you Cosimo!

P.s. if you have a car drive to the Murgia viewpoint for sunset. Incredible.

Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews