We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievably stunning”
Review of Sassi di Matera

Sassi di Matera
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.70*
and up
Half-day Private Tour From Bari to Matera and Sassi
More Info
$44.64*
and up
Guided Tour Sassi di Matera: I Due Sassi and the Rupester Churches
More Info
$45.81*
and up
Discover Matera Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 116 things to do in Matera
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“unbelievably stunning”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

gob smackingly beautiful town which while off the beaten track is well worth a visit. off season it was quiet but this will become a mecca for day trippers

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,262
    1,142
    135
    34
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Extraordinary!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is an amazing town to visit. In 1959 the cave dwellers were moved out by the government due to poor sanitation and living conditions. Now Sassi is undergoing a gentrification as the children of these original people are moving back and installing heating, air-conditioning, water, and electricity. It appears that many new owners are purchasing adjacent homes and turning them into B&B’s. The views are beautiful and the walk down and up through the town is so unique. A bit of celebrity: This is the location Mel Gibson selected for the filming of “The Passion of the Christ” as Sassi still in this day and age most resembles Jerusalem.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HalliePhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priddis, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The views are beautiful and the charm is unforgettable. It was one of the highlights of our trip. It's great wandering around and discovering lovely piazzas and churches. It was a little disappointing that one of the churches was closed due to construction and another was just closed. There are nice little shops to explore and lots of vistas for great photos. There is nothing not to like about this wonderful place.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, B.C
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Sassi di Matera”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This town is mind boggling with it's history and the absolute beauty which you witness as you crest the hill and start your descent down into the Sassi. It is a safe city to walk alone in, people are so helpful and friendly. There the rock churches to visit, cobblestone streets to explore, cathedral on the hill, and the caves across the ravine. The views from the plaza outside the cathedral on the hill at night are delightful. I rented a car for this area and drove around the countryside as well to poke into more of the rock caves. Early one morning I was thrilled to witness a herder across the river herding with the most haunting music being played from somewhere below...this was truly a highlight of my stay there as was walking one evening hand in hand with an elderly lady from the neighborhood where I was staying. We could not understand one anothers language but the connection was wonderful. I would go back to Matera in a heartbeat. Loved it!
Alice McKinnon
British Columbia Canada.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AliKat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Matera Sassi”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have visited the Matera Sassi three times. The first time we stumbled on it. We were staying in Matera because it is the closet city with lodging near where my husbnad's family comes from and we didn't intend on visiting anything but the little village near by. Now each time we bring family members to visit their ancestral home we also include a day visiting the Sassi.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sara_JMT_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassi di Matera also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
 
 

Been to Sassi di Matera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing