We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meat in Vegetarian Dishes”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of La Talpa

La Talpa
Ranked #105 of 300 Restaurants in Matera
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Meat in Vegetarian Dishes”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were excited about the vegetarian anti-pasto platter we'd ordered. I explicitly checked with two different waiters if it really was vegetarian. I was therefore very disappointed/annoyed when two of the dishes had meat (the eggplant dish had prosciutto, the omelette had some other kind of meat). When we told a third waitress (it's a HUGE restaurant, lots of waiters) she just confirmed that there was prosciutto in the dish, and did not do anything else about this. It stopped me from enjoying the rest of the food, since I didn't know what else was hiding in there. I know that this is Italy, but given the size of the restaurant and English menu, they obviously cater to tourists and should know better.
The pizza was fine, some of the waiters were nice. This turned out to be one our most expensive meals in Italy over a one month period. We wouldn't go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoverRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    237
    128
    69
    89
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food in the Sassi”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Roasted spaghetti with chile was spicy but very enjoyable as a first course. Another dish with pasta and puréed peas was delicious too. Wild boar ragu was an excellent second course. Busy but staff very pleasant. Also served traditional Matera peasant dish of stale bread and vegetables but we did not try. Wine list was good too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kolargold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food - fine price”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was one of the better restaurants we went to, south of Naples. Wonderful pasta (with truffles) and very reasonable wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JRNParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“wonderful wholemeal pizza”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

fantastic, whether you sit outside or inside, just great location.

we got antipasti tipically and this last already as a menu.
after this great start we ate a wholemeal pizza (vegetarian and grilled peperoni). Really yammie, unfortunately our stomaches where full after the antipasta, but we ate at last half of it.

Unfortunatelly it is not possible to have open wine, you have to get a whole bottle (but, we saw somebody brung its own bottle).

Great service, good price, almost perfect.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“so much food but very good”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We wandered around trying to find somewhere to eat and stumbled on this place. It seemed like we were the only tourists there. Lots of locals. We shared antipasta which was a huge amount of food. It would have done for an entire meal but it did give us a taste of a lot of local food. Then my husband had pasta and i had the traditional fava bean dish. Food was very good. staff was great and as i said, full of locals not tourists

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynn0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Talpa also viewed

Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 
Matera, Province of Matera
Matera, Province of Matera
 

Been to La Talpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing