We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night in Matera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Pietro Barisano
Ranked #101 of 193 Matera B&B and Inns
Oak Harbor, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Night in Matera”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We read rave reviews before finally choosing this place, however the moment we got there the nightmare started! After finding the correct parking lot, which was missmarked, we made our way to the hotel, careful to avoid all the dog crap along the way. At check-in management could not articulate to us what documentation was required, as they need to know who you are so they can let the police know who stays there. Finally got our room, right next to where the hotel dog is chained up, only to walk inside our "cave" to find it infested with ants! Our friends were right next door, had an issue with the A/C, managment came to help and didnt like the way she had set up the room for the kids to sleep and started throwing things around, yelling and walked out and slammed the door. About midnight the dog started barking nonstop for the next 4 hours. Needless to say, between a grumpy owner, ant infestation and dog barking all night, we didnt sleep much. Oh and the room felt like a sauna that smelled like a 50 year old basement full of mold and the A/C didnt work at all.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idohairforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    60
    16
    16
    14
See reviews for
30
75
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We had the deluxe room. Besides the fridge not working, the room was spacious, clean and inside a cave. It could fit a family of 4. It was an awesome place. The room is a little dam and cold, but they provided a humidifier. Wifi worked in the bathroom of our room and outside in the courtyard. Unfortunately the staffs did not speak much english but we manage to communicate. Breakfast was all yummy cakes. Overall, great place :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thebudgetbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Matera is a magical place and this property is magical also. Rooms were modern, clean, spacious, very quiet and unusual as you would expect in a cave. Staff very friendly and helpful. Parking is only a few steps away and you are right in the middle of Barisano and the Sassi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brobb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in February 2012. We had plenty of heat and were very comfortable. I stayed in the room "Clio." My cousin stayed in "Tersico." Her room had a slight musty smell, but hey, it's a cave. Our rooms could not receive the wi-fi (probably because we were in a cave), so we took our computers to the restaurant whenever we wanted a signal. The restaurant is right there. The breakfast was full of home made pastries that were delicious. Finding the place at first was a little challenging, but once we got there, Vincent showed us where to park (at the church, San Pietro Barisano) which was very close. I love the sassi. It's like another world. Last winter we stayed in another B&B that had no heat! Not recommended for handicapped or elderly, but I would stay there again.

Room Tip: When I go again, I would request my same room, "Clio."
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here fot 2 nights in May. What a great little place to stay, central to the small piazza's and the rooms are fantastic! Very roomy Grottos with a cave feel to them. Curved ceiling and walls, small alcoves for your bags and hanging clothes. Great bathrooms, fully functioning kitchen. This is like staying in a medievel time with all the appliances of today, a special feeling. 'Passion of the Christ' was filmed here and you can feel why, this place is special. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is great.
Please stay here for a great, different and unique experience!
Well Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

This place was ok. The pictures looked fantastic and they looked that way, but the actualy comfort of the room was below average. The room was mouldy and very damp and humid (due to the limestone cave). Even the rug and bed was damp and it was quite uncomfortable to want to stay in there.

The heating was on even though it was hot already, and they did not check the rooms before we arrived and it was stinking hot and humid in there.

In summary, it was a nice experience staying in a "sassi" but I wouldnt want to do so again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabe_GlobeTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

A nice small place with a wonderful view, an interesting menu & a good cave, a very close parking!, and a fantastich host and service.Maximilian and Jenifer
PS Dogs are welcome, and the premises are suggested by the italian Gambero Rosso food guide.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Leonardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Matera hotels
0.3 mi away
Caveoso Hotel
Caveoso Hotel
#24 of 30 in Matera
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Basiliani Hotel
Basiliani Hotel
#4 of 30 in Matera
600 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Cave del Sole Resort & Beauty
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Agli Archi
Agli Archi
#21 of 193 in Matera
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alle Conche
Alle Conche
#24 of 193 in Matera
103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fra i Sassi Residence
Fra i Sassi Residence
#7 of 193 in Matera
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Pietro Barisano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Pietro Barisano

Property: San Pietro Barisano
Address: Rione San Biagio 52/56 | Sasso Barisano, 75100, Matera, Italy
Location: Italy > Basilicata > Province of Matera > Matera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Matera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — San Pietro Barisano 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in the heart of the stones"San Pietro Barisano Residence" is a hotel that takes its name from the adjacent church of the fifteenth century. The location of the hotel, in the heart of Sasso Barisano, place him in an ideal position to reach all the tourist attractions of Matera, while remaining in a private and quiet. In fact, in just a few minutes walk to Piazza Vittorio Veneto, the main square of the city, as well as the Cathedral, the Museum D. Ridola, and other places of historical and cultural interest present in Matera.The apartments have been renovated with the features of the "Sassi", are elegantly furnished and so diversified areas of style. Each style has been inserted inside the home-cave discreetly, so that expresses their personality through color associations and a balance between light and shadow, all in perfect harmony with its natural style of a home-cave and the material , tufa, which is excavated. The apartments are equipped, air-conditioning, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, kitchenette, Jacuzzi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your San Pietro Barisano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing